It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATF is pleased to provide you with the 34th Edition of State Laws and Published Ordinances - Firearms (ATF P 5300.5). These publications will help you comply with federal and state firearms laws and, specifically, with the Gun Control Act of 1968.
Giffords Law Center is an organization dedicated to saving lives from gun violence. Led by former Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, we inspire the courage of people from all walks of life to make America safer.
Altering a certain exception relating to law enforcement officers to the prohibition on carrying certain weapons on public school property; prohibiting the carrying or possession of certain firearms on the property of public institutions of higher education; requiring a public institution of higher education to post certain signs at certain locations; etc.
Classifying the theft of a firearm as a felony; and establishing a penalty for theft of a firearm of imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or a fine not exceeding $1,000 for a first offense, and imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500 for a second or subsequent offense.
Altering a certain provision relating to the storage of firearms and ammunition in a location that can be accessed by an unsupervised minor; and requiring the Deputy Secretary for Public Health Services to develop a youth suicide prevention and firearm safe storage guide, with recommendations from a stakeholder committee.
The Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act (Brady Bill) required "local chief law enforcement officers" (CLEOs) to perform background-checks on prospective handgun purchasers, until such time as the Attorney General establishes a federal system for this purpose. County sheriffs Jay Printz and Richard Mack, separately challenged the constitutionality of this interim provision of the Brady Bill on behalf of CLEOs in Montana and Arizona respectively.
Access to the entire range of Executive Branch Documents offering a record of federal department and agency activities. Once in the database, to limit the search to just these Executive Documents choose from the Content list. (5 modules available):
EBC 1 (1789-1932) EBD 2 (1933-1939) EBD 3 (1940-1942) EBD 4 (1943-1945) EBD 5 (1946-1948)
Federal legislative history service providing access to full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Documents include bills (all versions), legislative reports, documents, CRS reports, committee prints, speeches in the Congressional Record and presidential signing statements. Currently, Parts A, C, and D are available which include legislative histories from 1929-2014.
The Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories Database (1789 -2002) is derived from the looseleaf publication /Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books/. All compilations for major laws are included in the database with the following exceptions: appropriations measures; ceremonial matters; laws that extend the life of an agency or authority; and laws that affect small numbers of persons or specific regions of the country. The sources for these compilations include congressional documents, legal periodicals, treatises and looseleaf services. The Legislative History Title Collection is a collection of full-text legislative histories on some of the most important and historically significant legislation of our time.
Notes: PDF printing requires Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or later.