A number of tools, software, and services exist to create, support, and maintain a digital humanities project in the field of music. While not comprehensive, here are some of the categories and tools that can be useful in exploring possibilities and building your project.
TaDiRAH: Taxonomy of Digital Research Activities in the Humanities
TaDIRAH is a taxonomy of digital research activities in the humanities that aims to structure information relevant to digital humanities and make it more easily discoverable. TaDIRAH describes research activities in 8 overarching categories: capture, creation, enrichment, analysis, interpretation, storage, dissemination, and meta-activities. It also provides listings for objects that may be studied, such as artifacts, bibliographic listings, computers, images, languages, maps, and more.
DevDH: Development for Digital Humanities
DevDH provides the intellectual and strategie scaffolding to aid DH researchers in successfully completing their research endeavors.
Plans for the maintenance, sustainability, and long-term care of your digital humanities project are important considerations. Literature and guides to thinking about these challenges can provide a solid foundation.
The Socio-Technical Sustainability Roadmap
This easily-navigable resource, developed at the University of Pittsburgh and funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities functions as a self-guided workshop to guide digital humanities creators and maintainers through the task of sustaining such projects over the medium- and long-term.
MITH Digital Stewardship Series
A series of blog posts on the subject of sustainability and stewardship over digital humanities projects created and published by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) at the University of Maryland.
A community-built and maintained open-source standard to encode musical material into machine-readable structures expressed as an eXtensible Mark Language (XML) schema. Currently supports common music notation (CMN), Gregorian chant notation, and mensural notation. Plans for representing Ottoman music are currently underway. This website includes introductory and pedagogical tools for newcomers.
An open-source library for engraving Music Encoding Initiative (MEI) scores into SVG.
Renders MEI files into audio.
Using Optical Music Recognition (OMR), Aruspix is a scanning software for early music prints.
Open-source file format for machine-readable music; common music notation only.
Toolkit developed to analyze music in XML markup, developed at MIT.
SIMSSA: Single Interface for Music Score Searching and Analysis
The Single Interface for Music Score Searching and Analysis project (SIMSSA), is engaged in teaching computers to recognize musical symbols in digital images of musical scores to create a new architecture for processing music documents, transform scores into searchable data, and create searchable scores to allow analysis at the corpus level.
Data analytics and visualization software, available for free to UMD students and faculty through TERPware.
Data organization, spreadsheet, analytics and visualizations software with robust query capabilities
Tool for creating and building interactive maps for data visualization and project presentation.
A web-based tool to create an interactive narrative or presentation with a geographical or locational element.
A collection of open-source narrative and presentation tools created by Northwestern University to present research and information with user engagement. This suite includes Juxtapose, a frame comparison tool, Scene, a VR story tool, Soundcite, an inline audio tool, Storyline, a data presentation tool, StoryMap, a spatial narrative tool, and Timeline, a chronological narrative tool, among others.
Annotation tool that allows placement of markers over an image that are able to display a window containing text, images, video,or audio material. Low barrier to entry, and easily embedded into existing website or management systems.
Web tools for simple, drag-and-drop solutions to creating presentations, videos, infographics, and other interactive projects. Includes social media templates to increase visibility of projects on those platforms.
W3C Web Accessibility Initiative
Introduction to basic considerations to make interface and visual designs more accessible to people with disabilities, with an aim towards meeting the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG).
UX Designing for Accessibility
The UX Collective's Seven Simple Steps for designing for digital accessibility.
Online platform that convert audio and video files into text; particularly useful for creating accessible oral histories, podcasts, and other audio material.
