Spanish & Portuguese Literatures

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric.

Surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present.

Explores the cultural, political, and historical events that have shaped the Latin American and Caribbean novel since the end of World War II. This book covers novels written in Spanish, Portuguese, French, Dutch, and Haitian Creole, and traces the profound influence of modernization, revolution, and democratization on the writing of this era

The Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature in these regions, including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres and movements, from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day

A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies.

Hundreds of entries examine the literary periods and genres, significant characters, major authors, and works of Spanish literature as they relate to women's studies.

An introduction by the editor is followed by entries on 118 authors that provide both biographical information and a critical summary of works. Argentina, Brazil, and Mexico-home to the largest Jewish communities in Latin America-are the countries with the greatest representation, but there are essays on writers from Venezuela, Chile, Uruguay, Peru, Colombia, Costa Rica, and Cuba.

Presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries. Features thematic entries as well as biographies of female writers whose works were originally published in Spanish or Portuguese, and who have had an impact on literary, political, and social studies

This comprehensive one-volume resource contains approximately 250 entries on some of the most popular Hispanic-American authors and their works.

Key Terms in Latino/a Cultural and Literary Studies is an indispensable reference source comprised of hundreds of key terms central to this important and developing field.