It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to important print and electronic reference sources in the field of Spanish and Portuguese literatures. The emphasis is on material available in the University of Maryland Libraries' collections, but some Internet sources are also included
When you find an article you like in any of the Libraries' databases, just click on the "Find@UMD" button to locate the electronic version. You can also use "Find@UMD" to request items not owned by the UMD Libraries through interlibrary loan.
Be aware that the "Find@UMD" links mainly to electronic resources. Print books and some print journals cannot be identified through "Find@UMD". Use the link to identify print books, book chapters, and journal articles that are held in the UMD Libraries. The "Find in WorldcatUMD" link will help you locate a record for these items in Worldcat, along with the library location and call number.
TheMLA Directory of Periodicalsprovides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
Scholars and students seeking to submit their work for publicationuse the Directory of Periodicals to identify the journals and series most likely to consider their work. The directory includes essential information such as topics covered, editorial policies, contact information, and submission guidelines. As they explore new areas of interest, researchers can uncover relevant publications by subject searching in the directory.
Literary Criticism Databases
To find book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles of literary criticism on your author or work, consult the following database.
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines. Time span: Varies by journal. Some back to 1993, the majority from 1997 to the present.