Skip to main content

Sanborn Map

This guide is intended to aid in the navigation of the Sanborn Map Collection held by University of Maryland Libraries and the Digital Sanborn Maps.

Introduction

The Washington, DC (which also include Maryland suburban locations) Sanborn Fire Insurance maps listed here are available in the Maryland Room on the first floor of Hornbake Library

UM Libraries do not own copies of the original colored printed maps of these locations; the maps listed here are the black and white microfilm copies.

Washington, DC

Includes Maryland Suburban locations

  • 1903, vol. 1, reel 13. Includes 6 skeleton maps and key map to edition.

  • 1904-16, vol. 2, reel 13. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1916, vol. 3, reel 13. Includes key map to edition. Includes Chevy Chase and Takoma Park, MD.

  • 1928, vol. 1, reel 13. Includes zone map, map of congested district, and map of pricipal water supply mains. Includes key map to edition and 25 skeleton maps.

  • 1928, vol. 2, reel 13. Includes key map to edition and 6 skeleton maps.

  • 1928, vol. 3, reel 14. Includes key map to edition and 8 skeleton maps.

  • 1928, vol. 4, reel 14. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1927, vol. 5, reel 14. Includes Chevy Chase, Bethesda, Somerset Heights, Friendship Heights and Glen Echo Park, MD. Includes key map to edition. Suburban volume of Montgomery County.

  • 1927, vol. 6, reel 14. Includes Takoma Park and Silver Spring, MD. Includes key map to edition. Suburban volume of Montgomery County and Prince George's County.

  • 1927, vol. 7, reel 14. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1939, vol. 2, reel 14. Includes Mount Ranier, Brentwood, North Brentwood, Cottage City, Colmar Manor, Hyattsville, Riverdale, Berwyn Heights, Edmonston, University Park, Greenbelt, College Heights, College Heights Estates, College Park, Lakeland, Berwyn, Branchville, Daniel Park, Bladensburg, Cheverly, Fairmount Heights, Seat Pleasant, Capital Heights, Carmody Hills, Maryland Park, Greater Capital Heights, Bradbury Heights and Boulevard Heights. Washington Suburban, Prince George's Co., Maryland. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1950, vol. 3, reel 14. Includes Hillendale and Kensington Fire Districts and incorporated towns of Garrett Park and Kensington. Includes key map to edition. Washington suburban, Maryland.

  • 1928-Nov. 1959, vol. 1, reel 15. Includes map of congested districts, map of principal water supply mains, key map to edition and 23 skeleton maps.

  • 1928-Nov. 1959, vol. 2, reel 15. Includes key map to edition and 6 skeleton maps.

  • 1928-Nov. 1959, vol. 3, reel 15. Includes key map to edition and 6 skeleton maps.

  • 1928-Nov. 1959, vol. 4, reel 15. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1927-Nov. 1959, vol. 5, reel 15. Includes key map to edition and 2 skeleton maps.

  • 1927-Jan. 1960, vol. 6, reel 15. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1927-Jan. 1960, vol. 7, reel 15. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1927-Jan. 1960, vol. 8, reel 16. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1927-Jan. 1960, vol. 9, reel 16. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1927-Jan. 1960, vol. 10, reel 16. Includes key map to edition.

Washington Suburban

  • 1927-Mar. 1959, vol. 1W, reel 16. Includes Glen Echo, Chevy Chase Village and Somerset, and unincorporated sections known as American University Park, Battery Park, Bethesda, Bradley Hills, Bradmoor, Brooksdale, Chevy Chase Terrace, Columbia Forest, Crestview, Edgemoor, Edgewood, Friendship Heights, Glen Cove, Glen Greenwich Forest, Hunnington Terrace, Kenwood, Meadowbrook Village, Northwest Park, Pollingwood, Rosedale Park, Sonoma, Tarryton, Westgate, Westhaven, Westmoreland Hills, Wood Acres, Woodmont, and Yorktown Village. Washington suburban, Montgomery Co., MD.

  • 1927-Apr. 1959, vol. 1E, reel 16. Includes key map to edition. Includes Takoma Park and unincorporated sections known as Argyle Park, Club Estates, Fairway Park, Indian Spring, Northwood Park, North Woodside, Silver Spring, Sligo, Sligo Park Hills, South Woodside Park, Woodmoor, Woodside, Woodside Park and Wynne Park. Washington suburban, Montgomery Co. and small parts of Prince George's Co., MD

  • 1927-Apr. 1959, vol. 2, reel 16. Includes key map to edition.

  • 1950-Apr. 1959, vol. 3, reel 16. Includes key map to edition. Includes Hillendale and Kensington Fire Districts and unicorporated towns of Garrett Park and Kensington. Suburban volume of Montgomery Co., MD.

  • 1939-May 1959, vol. 4, reel 16. Includes incorporated towns of Bladensburg, Capital Heights, Cheverly Heights, Edmonston, Fairmount Heights, Landover Hills, Riverdale, Seat Pleasant and District Heights. Unincorporated towns of Beaver Heights, Bradbury Heights, Carmody Hills, East Pines, East Riverdale, Greater Capitol Heights, Maryland Park, Radiant Valley, Riverdale Heights, Villa Heights, Boulevard Heights, Landover, Suitland, Green Valley, Marlow Heights, and Hillcrest Heights.

  • 1927-1963, vol. 1E, reel 28.

  • 1927-1963, vol. 1W, reel 28.

  • 1927-1963, vol. 2, reel 28.

  • 1950-1963, vol. 3, reel 28.

  • 1939-1964, vol. 4, reel 28.