Skip to main content

Preserving Historic Theaters

This guide provides information on the history of historic theaters, gives examples of rehabilitation projects across the country, and suggests related resources for interested individuals to track down for more information.

Historic Theater Organizations

League of Historic American TheatersA resource for people involved in restoration efforts of theaters of all types, nationwide. LHAT provides consulting services, maintains resource lists of people in various specialties related to theater restoration, advocates on behalf of historic theater preservation, hosts conferences and seminars on restoring and operating historic theaters, and serves as a national network for interested individuals. 

Theater Historical Society of America

The society has, for over 30 years, been dedicated to the collection of archival material documenting more than 9,000 theaters nationwide. Their materials are open to the public and an invaluable resource for preservationists.

The Silver Theater

The Art Deco Society of Washington

This page was created as part of the campaign to restore the Silver Theater, a campaign instigated and carried through by the Society. It includes photo galleries of both the exterior and interior of the theater dating back to its construction, before the renovation

The Silver Spring Historical Society

This page tells the story of the twenty-year-long battle to restore the Silver Theater. Before and after photographs of the theater are included

The American Film Institute

This page contains information about educational programs and other activities at AFI, as well as current information about the Silver Theater's screenings.

The Fox Theater

Fox Visalia

This web site provides detailed descriptions of the history and restoration of this theater. A particularly interesting section of the web site is entitled "Fox Tales," and includes the reminiscences of people who visited and worked at the theater from its beginning.

Finding digital material

The materials available within Digital Collections include books and journals from the general collections, as well as many rare and unique materials.These materials represent only a fraction of the Libraries' collections. Some of our serial and periodicals have been digitized by the Internet Archive and can be found in their repository. Please contact us if you cannot find the resource you are looking for. 

Digital collections