Skip to main content

William Morris and the Kelmscott Press

A guide to resources on William Morris available in Special Collections at Hornbake Library.

Additional Primary and Secondary Source Material

Non-University of Maryland Libraries and Museums

  • The Huntington Library in San Marino, California In addition to a collection of manuscripts for Morris's published writings and material related to the Kelmscott Press, the Huntington Library possesses the archives of Morris and Co. The collection includes over one thousand designs and cartoons for stained glass, archival documentation of the Firm's business, designs for wallpaper and textiles, and over 100 of Morris's figure drawings.

 

  • The Society of Antiquaries of London The Society of Antiquaries of London owns and manages Kelmscott Manor. In addition to a collection of the possessions and works of Morris and his associates such as furniture, textiles, carpets and ceramics, the Society possesses literary manuscripts pertaining to William Morris.

 

 

  • The British Library The British Library in London has an extensive collection of William Morris manuscripts. The collection contains drafts of poems and prose, journals, translations, sketches and political lectures, and the original manuscript minute books of the Hammersmith branch of the Social Democratic Federation.

 

 

 

  • The Pierpont Morgan Library and Museum in New York City The Pierpont Morgan Library and Museum owns William Morris books, historic bindings, personal and professional correspondence, manuscripts of major works, textiles, samples of wallpapers and fabrics, drawings, sketches, portraits, designs for stained glass and book illustrations, period photographs, Socialist ephemera, and artifacts. The Morgan Library also owns books that Morris produced at the Kelmscott Press, and medieval manuscripts that he used as a source for both text and decorations.

 

 

 

  • The William Morris Gallery in Walthamstow, England is a public museum devoted to William Morris's work as a designer. The Gallery has mounted selected works and photographs from the museum's collection on their website.

Full Texts Online

Online Resources