Skip to Main Content
University of Maryland Libraries Logo
RESEARCH GUIDES

William Morris and the Kelmscott Press

A guide to resources on William Morris available in Special Collections at Hornbake Library.

Auction Catalogs

Auction catalogues listing Kelmscott Press and William Morris First editions in Inscribed and Association Copies.  Items are arrenged alphabetically according to Auctioneer.  

American Art Galleries, New York. 

(1) Catalogue of the Valuable Library and Art Collection of the late Carl Edelheim. March 1900.


John Anderson Jr., New York. 

(2) Catalogue of a Valuable and Interesting Collection. No. 42, January 1901.

(3) Catalogue of a Very Choice Catalogue of Books. No. 106, April 1902.


The Anderson Auction Company, New York.

(4) Catalogue of a Choice Collection of Rare and Fine Books... No. 357, January 1905.

(5) Books in Rare Editions and Fine Bindings. No. 451, April 1906.

(6) Catalogue of an Exceptionally Choice Collection. No. 556, May 1907.

(7) Catalogue of the Library of Edwin N. Lapham. No. 707, December 1908.

(8) Fine Books Including Selections from the Library of a New York Banker. No. 806, February 1910.

(9)  Fine and Rare Books Including Selections from the collection of M.M. Friend. No. 811, February 1910.

(10) The Library and Art Collection of August Monssen. No. 834, April 1910.

(11) The Library...of Judge Jacob Klein. (2 vols.) 

    • Part I No. 893, February 1911.
    • Part II No. 895, February 1911. 

(12) A Western Collection of First Editions of Modern English and American Authors. No. 921, November 1911.

(13) Library of the Late Adrian H. Joline, Part VI. May 1915.

    • Part VI only. The name of the auction house is given on the wrapper as The Anderson Auction Company, but on the title page as The Anderson Galleries, Inc.


The Anderson Galleries, Inc., New York.

(14) An Unusual Collection of Rare Books. No. 1188, January 1916.

(15) Rare Books in Fine Bindings from Robert Riviere & Son of London. No. 1201, February 1916.

(16) Fine Books from the Library of Charles J. Goves. No. 1310, December 1917.

(17) Catalogue of a Most Unusual Collection...Part Two of the Library of the Late Mark P. Robinson... No. 1349, April-May 1918. Part II only.

(18) The Private Library of Mr. S.L. Sherer. No. 1467, February 1920.

(19)  Selections from the Aubrey Library... No. 1580, April 1921.

(20) The Magnificent Library of the Late Mrs. Phoebe A.D. Boyle. No. 1772, November 1923. 

(21) Beautiful Books...The Library of Dr. Perceval M. Barker. No. 2223, January 1928.

(22) The Library of Jerome Kern. (2 vols.).

    • Part I, A-J. No. 2307, January 1929.
    • Part II, A-Z. No. 2311, January 1929 

(23) The Library of the Late S. N. Levy. No. 2323, February 1929.

(24) Selections from the Libraries of Frank L. Crocker...Katherine A. Parker and Others. No. 2327, March 1929.


The American Art Association, New York.

(25) Illustrated Catalogue of First Editions...Collected by Mr. Edward K. Butler. April 1922.

(26) Illustrated Catalogue of the...Private Library of Mrs. William S. Sheehan. November 1922.

(27) The Important Library of Alexander M. Hudnut. November 1926.

(28)The Notable Library formed by the Late Col. Rhinelander Waldo. February 1928.

(29) First Editions and Fine Bindings...including Books from the Library of the Late J.B. Foley. May 1928.


American Art Association Anderson Galleries, Inc., New York. 

(30) Private Press Books from the Library of David Randall. No. 3844, April 1930.

(31) Rare Books from the Library of the Late Willis Vickery. No. 4025 March 1933.

(32) The Library of the Late Rev. Dr. Roderick Terry. (3 vols.)

    • Part I, No. 4107, May 1934
    • Part II, No. 4125, November 1934
    • Part III, No. 4154, February 1935. 

(33) The Library of the Late Alfred Nathan. No. 4133, November 1934.

(34) English Literature...forming the Library of Robert J. Hamershlag. No. 4147, January 1935.

(35) The Collection of the Late J. Percy Sabin. No. 4255, April 1936.

(36) The Notable Library Formed by Mrs. Milton E. Getz. (2 vols)

    • Part I, No. 4278, November 1936. 
    • Part II, No. 4279, November 1936. 

(37) First Editions...from the Collection of Paul M. Herzog. No. 4274, November 1936.

(38) The Splendid Library of the late Parke E. Simmons. No. 4348, November 1937.

(39) The Cortlandt F. Bishop Library. (4 vols)

    • Part I, No. 4385, March 1938. 
    • Part II, No. 4391, April 1938. 
    • Part III, No. 4414, November 1938. 
    • Part IV, No. 4427, January 1939. 

Bangs & Co., New York.

(41) Catalogue of Unusually Rare And Valuable Books. October 1901.

(42) First Editions of American Authors. January 1902.


California Book Auction Galleries

(44) John Alger Flick Collection. No. 145, October 1978.


Christie's, London.

(45) Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Printed Books. July 26, 1978.

    • Sale of the Kelmscott Chaucer inscribed by Morris to Cobden Sanderson, bound by the Doves Bindery, previously the property of the Duchess of Marlborough.

Christie, Manson & Woods International Inc., New York.

(46) Printed Books and Manuscripts. April 20, 1979.

(47) Printed Books...including the John A. Saks Collection of the Kelmscott Press Printed on Vellum. May 20, 1983.


City Book Auction, New York.

(48) A Superb Collection of Books and Autographs. No. 529, June 1951.


Stan V. Henkels, Philadelphia.

(49) The Library of Harold Pierce. (3 vols.)

    • Part I, No. 892, March 1903
    • Part II, No. 892, March 1903
    • Part III, No. 392, Mary 1903

C.F. Libbie & Co., Boston.

(50) Catalogue of the Valuable Private Library of the Late Frederick W. French. April 1901.

(51) Catalogue of the Valuable Private Library of James Brown. November 1909.

(52) The Merwin-Clayton Sales Company, New York. Selections from the Libary of the Late Lieut. Edward W. Very. March 1921.


Parke-Bernet Galleries Inc., New York. 

(53) First Editions...from the Library of the Late Alfred S. Austrian. April 1939.

(54) The Renowned Library of the Renowned John A. Spoor. Part II, May 1939. Part II only.

(55) Library of Ephrem Zimbalist. November 1939.

(56) Rare Books...Collected by the Late A. Edward Newton. (3 vols.)

    • Part I, No. 276, April 1941 
    • Part II, No. 284, May 1941 
    • Part III, No. 306, October 1941 

(57) Orinthological Books...Ashendene, Kelmscott and Other Press Publications. No. 313, November 1941.

    • Includes a Kemscott Chaucerian Doves Bindery pigskin binding.

(58) Property Collected by the Late B.T. & Philander L. Cable. No. 405 November 1942.

(59) The Arts of the Book...The Splendid Library Formed by the Late Charles C. Kalbfleisch. No. 514, January 1944.

(60) Specimens of Fine Printing...from the Library of the Late Dr. Charles Thomas Silve. No. 787, October 1946.

(61) Books from the Stock of the Brick Row Bookshop. No. 1462, November 1953.

(62) Autographs, Books, Documents. No. 1496, February 1954.

(63) Ashendene, Doves, Kelmscott, Nonesuch and Panther Press Publications. No. 1658, March 1956.


Bernard Quaritch

(64) Books and pamphlets from the library of Maurice Buxton Forman. No. 926 (1973). 


Sotheby & Co., London.

(65) The Incomparable Collection of Kelmscott William Morris formed by Sir Sydney Cockerell, Litt. D. together with his Distinguished Collections of the Ashendene Press and the Doves Press. December 10, 1956.

    • Invalid ten loose leaves from various dealer catalogues listing Kelmscott Press imprints and three dealer catalogues devoted entirely to Kelmscott Press imprints, James F. Drake, Blackwell's, Oxford, #929. The catalogue is annotated throughout.

(66) The Incomparable Collection of Kelmscott William Morris formed by Sir Sydney Cockerell, Litt. D. together with his Distinguished Collections of the Ashendene Press and the Doves Press. December 10, 1956. 

    • 2nd copy, without annotations or inserts.


(67) Catalogue of the Celebrated Library...of the Late Major R. Abbey. Part VII. December 1, 1970.

(68) Catalogue of Books from the Kelmscott, Doves, Ashendene, Golden Cockerell, Nonesuch and Other Presses. No. 17, June 22, 1978.

    • Annotated throughout. Inlaid notes on prices, correspondence, price lists and page proofs of a Catalogue of Private Presses and English Illustrated Books, to be sold June 22, 1978, not further identified.

(68) Catalogue of Books from the Kelmscott, Doves, Ashendene, Golden Cockerell, Nonesuch and Other Presses. No. 17, June 22, 1978.

    • 2nd copy, without annotations or inserts.

(69) The Extensive Collection of Private Press Ephemera formed by the Late John K. Power. January 24, 1983.


Swann Galleries, Inc., New York.

(70) Rare Books, Autographs, Graphics. No. 1039, October 1976.

Dealer Catalogs

Dealer catalogues listing Kelmscott Press and William Morris First editions in Inscribed and Association Copies. Items are arranged alphabetically according to book dealer.

The Aries Press

(1) 1926. A Recapitulation of the First Year.

    • Pamphlet printed on the original handpress used by William Morris for the printing of the Kelmscott Chaucer.


L'Art Ancien

(2) No. 194.


Ars Libri

(3) No. 10. 


Blackwell's

(4)  No. 776, No. 825, No. 858, No. 905, No. 929, No. 982; No. A-1 Centenart Antiquarian Catalogue, No. A-4, No. A-25, No. A-1040, No. A-1053.

    • No. 929 is entirely devoted to a complete set of Kelmscott Press imprints, of which three are on vellum. 


The Book Block

(5) No.3


Monk Bretton Books

(6) No.1, No. 5, No. 13. 


Carnegie Book Shop

(7) No. 326, 344, 350, 352. 


William J. Cassidy

(8) No. 9. 


Chiswick Book Shop

(9) 1969. 


Colophon Book Shop

(10) No. 16.


Dawson's Book Shop

(11) No. 259. 

    • Contains a "complete collection of books printed by William Morris at the Kelmscott Press, 1891-1896." 


Philip C. Duschnes

(12) No. 139, No. 152, No. 166, No. 182, No. 187, No. 202, No. 203,  No. 206, No. 211, No. 213. 

    • No. 139 offers "William Morris's Typographical Adventure. A Complete Collection of the Publications of the Kelmscott Press." 


Joseph J. Felcone

(13) No. 21. 


Colin & Charlotte Franklin

(14)  No. 2, No. 5. 


George Gregory, Bath (England). 

(15) No. 2, No. 5. 

    • Four-page pamphlet offering for sale "The Illuminated Manuscript of the Aeneid of Virgil," the calligraphy by Morris and Graily Hewitt, the historiated miniatures by Charles Fairfax Murray after drawings by Burne-Jones. 


Hartfield Books

(17) No. 10.


 Heritage Bookshop

(18) No. 115. 


Ian Hodgkins & Co. Ltd.

(19) No. 2, No. 4, No. 8, No. 9, No. 14. 



Frank Hollings, London.

(20) An Annexe of Trial Pages, Cancelled and Corrected Leaves, Specimen Sheets...and Ephemeral Production of Great Scarcity. 

    • All the items listed in the catalogue are productions of the Kelmscott Press. 


House of El Dieff, Inc.

(21) No. 17 Fortieth Anniversary Catalogue.  


John Howell Books

(22) No. 43. 


 J. & S. Rare Books

(23) No. 27. 


Maggs Bros.

(24) No. 346, No. 517, No. 900. 


McClurg's

(25) No. 44. 


George S. MacManus

(26) No. 269, No. 271. 


George Robert Minkoff

(27) No. 28. 


Sebastian d'Orsai

(28) No. 31. 


Bernard Quaritch

(29) No. 960. 


Paul C. Richards

(30) No. 128, No. 139, No. 147. 


Bertran Rota

(31) No. 146, No. 158, No. 173, No. 175, No. 200, No. 206, No. 207. 


Alwin J. Scheuer

(32)  No. 2, No. 3, No. 4, No. 6. 


Barry Scott

(33) No. 8. 


Scribner Rare Book Shop

(34) No. 172. 


George Sims

(35) No. 65.