Early Modern Works in Special Collections

The Early Printed and Manuscript Leaf collection consists of printed and illuminated manuscript leaves from Europe dated from the 12th -16th centuries. The collection includes 70 whole and partial leaves, representing a variety of styles and techniques that serve as a sampling of early print and manuscript book history.

The European Heritage Documents collection contains a wide variety of documents, written mostly in French, but also Latin, Italian, and Spanish, with a few in German, Dutch, and Portuguese. Most documents are hand written, some on parchment. A significant portion of the collection deals with the history of the Savoy region and includes land, property and other legal records, genealogy, government decrees and correspondence.

Dr. Thomas Bray (1656-1730) was a leading figure in the Church of England in colonial Maryland. The collection includes information on colonial religion, libraries, and the Anglican Church Establishment Act contained in petitions, meeting minutes, correspondence, and theological tracts.

A selection of items from the Early Printed and Manuscript Leaf collection available in UMD Digital Collections.

A Flickr album of images of women's costume, drawn from Maximilien Misson's 'Nouveau Voyage d'Italie'; (La Haye, 1702), a volume in the University of Maryland Libraries' Rare Books Collection.

A selection of items from the French Pamphlet collection available through the Internet Archive.

A Flickr album of incunabula pages from the University of Maryland, Special Collections Library. Incunabula are books, pamphlets, or pages printed in Europe before 1501.

Books published during the Early Modern period such as the Bible, Ovid's Metamorphosis, and the Eikon Basilike that are available through the Internet Archive.

A selection of digitized items from the Maryland Map collection.

A selection of items from Maryland's Spanish Plays collection available through the Internet Archive.