Research Guides: Early Modern Works in Special Collections: William Shakespeare

Works by Shakespeare

William Shakespeare. The Second Folio. 2nd Impression. Printed at London by Thomas Cotes for John Smethwick, William Aspley, Richard Hawkins, Richard Meighen and Robert Allot, 1632. Rare Folio PR2751.A2 1632

Mr. William Shakespeares comedies, histories, and tragedies: published according to the true originall copies. by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare Folio PR2751.A2 1632
Publication Date: 1632
2nd Impression. Printed at London by Thomas Cotes for John Smethwick, William Aspley, Richard Hawkins, Richard Meighen and Robert Allot, 1632.

18th and 19th Century Editions

Below is a selection of Shakespeare's works published in the 18th and 19th centuries. For more titles, search the catalog or contact us.

The plays of William Shakespeare, in ten volumes: with the corrections and illustrations of various commentators/to which are added notes by Samuel Johnson and George Steevens; with an appendix. by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare PR2752.J6 1773
Publication Date: 1773
London: Printed for C. Bathurst/[etc.], 1773.
Titus Andronicus. by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare PR2835.A1 1802
Publication Date: 1791
London: Bellamy & Robarts, 1791
King John, an historical tragedy, altered from Shakespeare, as it was acted at Reading School for the subscription to the naval pillar, to be erected in jonor of the naval victories of the war; and is now performing at the Theatre-Royal, Covent-Garden, wi by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare PR2835.A1 1802
Publication Date: 1803
Reading, Printed by Smart and Cowslade, 1803.
The female characters of Shakespeare by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare Folio PR2991.S53 184
Publication Date: 1848
New York: Wiley and Putnam, 1848.
Mr. William Shakespeares comedies, histories, & tragedies, published according to the true originall copies. by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare Folio PR2751.A15 1866
Publication Date: 1866
London: Day, 1866
The poems of William Shakespeare: printed after the original copies of Venus and Adonis, 1593, The rape of Lucrece, 1594, Sonnets, 1609, The lover’s complaint. by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR2841.A2 E4
Publication Date: 1893
Hammersmith: Kelmscott Press; [London]: Sold by Reeves & Turner, 1893.
Eight illustrations to Shakespeare’s Tempest by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare Folio PR2883.C73 1893
Publication Date: 1893
London: J.M. Dent, 1893.

Modern Editions

Below is a selection of Shakespeare's works published from 1900 onwards. To find additional titles, search the catalog or contact us.

The Vale Shakespeare by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections PR2754.V3 1900
Publication Date: 1900-04
[London] Hacon & Ricketts, 1900-04.
A midsummer night’s dream by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections PR2827.A2 R3 1908
Publication Date: 1908
London: Heinemann; New York: Doubleday, Page & Co., 1908. Illustrations by Arthur Rackham.
Shakespeare’s comedy As you like it by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections PR2803.A2 T32
Publication Date: 1909
London; New York: Hodder & Stoughton, [1909?]
Shakespeare’s comedy of The tempest by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections PR2833.A1 1914
Publication Date: 1914
London: Hodder & Stoughton, [1914] Illustrations by Edmund Dulac.
King Lear by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections Folio PR2819.A2 Y8 1930
Publication Date: 1930
San Francisco : David Magee, 1930
The comedies, histories & tragedies of William Shakespeare. by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections Folio PR2754.F3 1939
Publication Date: 1939-1940
New York, Limited Editions Club, 1939-1940.
The complete works of William Shakespeare by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections PR2751.A15 1953
Publication Date: 1953
London: Nonesuch Press; New York: Random House, 1953.
With fairest flowers while summer lasts; poems from Shakespeare. by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections PR2842.H8
Publication Date: 1971
Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1971. Edited & introduced by Ted Hughes.
Antony & Cleopatra by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Special Collections Folio PR2802.A1 1979
Publication Date: 1979
[Guildford, England]: Circle Press Publications, 1979.
Shall I die? Shall I fly by William Shakespeare
Call Number: Rare PR2873.S52 1986
Publication Date: 1986
[Boston, Mass.] : Anne & David Bromer, 1986.

Works About Shakespeare

Below is a selection of books about Shakespeare and his works. For more titles, search the catalog or contact us.

The medical and surgical knowledge of William Shakspere: with explanatory notes by John William Wainwright
Call Number: Rare PR3062.W3
Publication Date: 1906-1907
New York: The Author, 1907, c1906.
Is Shakespeare dead?: From my autobiography by Mark Twain
Call Number: Special Collections PR2944.C6 1909b
Publication Date: 1909
[New York and London]: Harper & Brothers Publishers New York and London, MCMIX [1909]
Shakespeare and the stoicism of Seneca. by T.S. Eliot
Call Number: Special Collections PR3001.E6 1927
Publication Date: 1927
London, Pub. for the Shakespeare Association by H. Milford, Oxford University Press, 1927.
Shakespeare’s Lady Macbeth: a Shakespearean story of temptation by George William Gerwig
Call Number: Special Collections PR2823.G47 1929
Publication Date: 1929
East Aurora, N.Y.: The Roycroft Shops, c1929.
Hamlet, within the limits of normal behavior. by Beeckman J. Delatour
Call Number: Special Collections PR2807.D45
Publication Date: 1962
[New York, George Grady Press, 1962]
The printing and proof-reading of the first folio of Shakespeare. by Charlton Hinman
Call Number: Special Collections Z8813.H5
Publication Date: 1963
Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1963.
Bottom: on Shakespeare. by Louis Zukofsky
Call Number: Special Collections PR3001.Z8 1963
Publication Date: 1963
[Austin? Published by the] Ark Press [for the Humanities Research Center, University of Texas, c1963]
The millionaire and the bard: Henry Folger’s obsessive hunt for Shakespeare’s first folio by Andrea E. Mays
Call Number: Special Collections Z989.F66 M28 2015
Publication Date: 2015
New York : Simon & Schuster, [2015]