Research Guides: Life Sciences: Neuroscience & Cognitive Science

Traditional libraries offered books for students and researchers. We still do that, but we offer so much more, too. From databases designed to help you in a specific subject to eBooks that you can access from anywhere at any time, the libraries are here to help you succeed. Scroll through the tabs at the top of this box to find resources that are perfect for Neuroscience & Cognitive Science.

comic showing a library inside a computer

The following are a list of databases that are best bets when doing Neuroscience & Cognitive Science Research. If you need help finding keywords, developing a search strategy, or navigating any of these databases, don't be afraid to ask your subject librarian for help (contact info on the home page of this guide)! Note that this list is alphabetical by title; the first database may not be the most suitable database depending on your search.

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
MEDLINE
Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals. Users can effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning and administration of services. 1966- present.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First
There are no ISBNs in this database.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education, public health, health care planning and administration of services. Also includes additional life science journals. mid-1960s - present
SciFinder-n
You must first create an account using your @umd.edu email address to use the web version. Unlimited simultaneous users. To use off-campus, sign into the GlobalProtect VPN and change the gateway setting to TunnelAll. SciFinder-n is published by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and gives you access to current high-quality scientific information in chemistry and related sciences. Content at a Glance: searching MEDLINE and Chemical Abstracts (CAPLUS) individually or at the same time; more than 15 million reactions; more than 1 billion predicted property values; more than 2 million experimental properties; the CAS REGISTRY database is updated daily; patent records from the major patent offices are available online within 2 days of the patents' issuance; sequences combined from CAS and GenBank databases, which are indexed and linked to scientific journal and patent literature.

Whether you're looking for a textbook, an eBook, or just a good read, we have what you are looking for (or can get it in a few days). Below is a list of in-demand items that may help you navigate your courses. Don't see what you are looking for? Head over to the Library's homepage and type your title in the search box on the left!

Neuroscience by Dale Purves (Editor); George J. Augustine (Editor); David Fitzpatrick (Editor); William C. Hall (Editor); Anthony-Samuel LaMantia (Editor); Richard D. Mooney (Editor); Michael L. Platt (Editor); Leonard E. White (Editor)
ISBN: 9781605353807
Publication Date: 2017-10-12
This comprehensive textbook provides a balance of animal and human studies to discuss the dynamic field of neuroscience from cellular signaling to cognitive function. The book's length and accessible writing style make it suitable for both medical students and undergraduate neuroscience courses. Each new book includes a one-year subscription to Sylvius 4 Online.
Human Physiology by Dee Unglaub Silverthorn
ISBN: 9780321981226
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MasteringA&P does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MasteringA&P search for ISBN-10: 0321981227 /ISBN-13: 9780321981226. That package includes ISBN-10: 0321981227/ISBN-13: 9780321981226 and ISBN-10: 0133983412/ISBN-13:9780133983418. For courses in Human Physiology An Integrated Science Needs an Integrated Approach Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach broke ground with its thorough coverage of molecular physiology seamlessly integrated into a traditional homeostasis-based systems approach. The newly revised Seventh Edition includes new Phys in Action! Video Tutors that are accessible from the text and a wide range of engaging activities in MasteringA&P that are designed to bring the textbook to life, including new Interactive Physiology 2.0 Coaching Activities, Phys in Action! Coaching Activities, and Dynamic Study Modules. Also available with MasteringA&P ® MasteringA&P is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with Human Physiology: An Integrated Approach to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students receive hints and wrong-answer feedback to practice what they learn, test their understanding, help them better absorb course material, and grasp difficult concepts.
The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Science by Susan E. F. Chipman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199842193
Publication Date: 2016-12-08
Cognitive Science is an avowedly multidisciplinary field, drawing upon many traditional disciplines or research areas--including Linguistics, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Psychology, Anthropology, Artificial Intelligence, and Education--that contribute to our understanding of cognition. Just as learning and memory cannot truly prove effective as disconnected studies, practical applications of cognitive research, such as the improvement of education and human-computer interaction, require dealing with more complex cognitive phenomena by integrating the methods and insights from multiple traditional disciplines. The societal need for such applications has played an important role in the development of cognitive science. The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Science emphasizes the research and theory that is most central to modern cognitive science. Sections of the volume address computational theories of human cognitive architecture; cognitive functioning, such as problem solving and decision making as they have been studied with both experimental methods and formal modeling approaches; and cognitive linguistics and the advent of big data. Chapters provide concise introductions to the present achievements of cognitive science, supplemented by references to suggested reading, and additional facets of cognitive science are discussed in the handbook's introductory chapter, complementing other key publications to access for further study. With contributions from among the best representatives in their fields, this volume will appeal as the critical resource for the students in training who determine the future of cognitive science.