Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
Nexis Uni Search Tips
1. place the name in quotes
"Elon Musk"
2.use the * for truncation
leader*
There are several ways to formulate your search. Keep in mind though that because this is a full text database, using - and - to connect your concepts will, in most cases, result in a large number of items and many will not be relevant.
Best to try and bring the word/s closer together.
Bring the words closer together:
/s = same sentence
"elon musk" /s leader*
/p = same paragraph
"elon musk" /p leader*
hlead(...) - limit to headline and lead paragraphs (you can use -and- here since you are limiting where the words appear
hlead("elon musk" and leader*)
Filters on the left:
search within
date
publication type - then sources
etc.
National Newspapers Core Search Tips
1. place the name in quotes
"Elon Musk"
2.use the * for truncation
leader*
Keep in mind though that because this is a full text database, using - and - to connect your concepts will, in most cases, result in a large number of items and many will not be relevant.
Best to try and bring the word/s closer together.
N/# = there can only be a certain number of words between = "elon musk" N5 leader*
Can also change the search field from Anywhere to Abstract or Anywhere except fulltext
Ethnic Newswatch and GenderWatch
same search strategies as National Newspapers Core
---------
To search these databases together, get into one and then click on the three-lined menu on the left and then Change Databases - and add the others
