Databases provide access to scholarly journal articles, popular magazines, newspapers....
Access the databases from this guide or from the Libraries Homepage (click on the Databases tab) the Database Finder page and search by specific database name or browse by subject. In addition, you can search by type such as:
Biographies
Newspapers and Periodicals Historical (pre 1990)
Newspapers and Periodicals Current (1990 - )
The Academic Search Ultimate database should be used by everyone. This is a multidisciplinary database and covers all subjects.
If you do not retrieve enough relevant results, add additional databases.
Examples:
Business leader? add Business Source Complete
Education leader? add Education Source
Woman leader? add Women's Studies International
Political leader? add International Political Science Abstracts
Historical leader - United States? add America. History and Life with Full- Text
Historical leader - Outside the United States? add Historical Abstracts with Full-Text
LGBTQ leader? add LGBTQ+ Source
Health leader? add Medline / Health Source Consumer Edition / Health Source Nursing Academic
All of these are databases within the EbscoHost platform, so you can search them together by getting into one database, clicking on - choose databases - and adding them.
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
Search strategies for the databases are the same you would use for WorldCat:
name in quotes:
"christine lagarde"
"harriet tubman"
"cesar chavez"
Since you are focusing on - leadership - add
leader* (the * is truncation so leader* = leader or leaders or leadership)
"christine lagrade"
and
leader*
or keywords that are associated with the person and their leadership activities:
"christine lagrade"
and
leader*
and
imf or "international monetary fund"
"harriet tubman"
and
leader*
"harriet tubman"
and
leader*
and
"underground railroad"
"harriet tubman"
"underground railroad"
"cesar chavez"
and
leader*
"cesar chavez"
and
farmworker*
Results
Click on a title, read the abstract, find the fulltext by clicking on the pdf or html link.
Sometimes you will not see a link to the fulltext but will see:
Make sure you click on the link, it is possible we will have the article in fulltext or it might be in print or we might not own the item (then you could request it via Interlibrary Loan (if you have the time, it will take a few days to get a scanned copy)
Results from the Find@UMD
