Global Communities

This database produced by the International Political Science Association, provides coverage of articles from the world's leading journals in political science. Only 4 simultaneous users allowed. This database contains over 110,000 records from nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database every year.

Huge database covering multiple news, government, and legal sources

This database houses scholarly studies about the media and coverage of world events

Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues. Examples of specific subject coverage include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies to name a few. The average study is 50 pages long, and contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts. Most contain statistical tables, charts, and/or graphs. Country coverage includes all of Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and Pacific islands. Users can browse by country to find country specific annual statistical overviews. Multi-country and Asia-wide comparisons are also available. Time span: 1999-present.

Full-text online of previously classified primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Comprised of more than 20 topic-specific collections, including Afghanistan, Berlin and Cuban Missile Crises, China, El Salvador, Iran and Iran-Contra, Iraqgate, Japan, Nicaragua, Phillipines, Presidential Directives on National Security, South Africa, Soviet Union, Terrorism, U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, U.S. Military Uses of Space, and U.S. Nuclear History and Non-proliferation Policy. Varies by collection; generally sometime during the Cold War period, 1945 to 1991.

From 1915 - Covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Includes the policy oriented literature such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health and science and technology.

Full text of all published treaties & agreements to which the US has been a party. Includes: US Treaties & Other International Agreements (UST); Treaties & Other International Acts Series (TIAS); Treaties in Force (TIF) and Guide to Treaties in Force; International Legal Materials (ILM); KAV Agreements; Bevans; Malloy; and Miller.

Full text of the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS), the current status of the multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties. From 1998 - The Status of Multilateral Treaties is updated daily. Treaty text can only be printed one page at a time unless you download the AlternaTIFF plug-in - instructions at http://untreaty.un.org/ENGLISH/series/plugin/install_plugin.asp

The electronic repository for official documents published by the United Nations. ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. The full text of documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the United Nations--Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. The ODS is a multilingual system. Therefore, it requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers.

NOTE: Even though current access to the database ended on August 31, 2018, since we have perpetual access rights to OECD, there will be content available, covering 1998-2018. The online library of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. Comprises 20 book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports, most OECD periodicals,
and the OECD statistical databases.

Access to IMF publications including periodicals, books, working papers, studies, data and statistical tools. Please NOTE: we do not subscribe to all IMF publications, limiting results to only our subscribed content is a search option within the eLibrary. Items not owned by UMD, can be requested thru UBorrow, or Inter Library Loan, or via Google search.

EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research in over 400 books, journals, dissertations, and working papers. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics. 1969 - present.
Tip: Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First ISSNs and ISBNs are not searchable in this database.

The EBSEES (European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) covers European scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. 1991- present.

These volumes of primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.

EIU ViewPoint (formerly: EIU ViewsWire) is the world's most comprehensive source of global forecasts, market trends, data and analysis, in over 200 countries. The service is relied upon by analysts and strategists across business, government, finance and academia to provide unrivaled insight into how the world's political, economic and policy landscape is changing. Covers different disciplines: Economics, Business, Political Science and Law.

Developed by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism and START: A Center of Excellence of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, University of Maryland. "The Global Terrorism Database is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2008 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 87,000 cases.

In-depth coverage of publications from the American Society of International Law and the prominent Yearbooks from around the world, as well as the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series and the publications of dozens of other highly-respected publishers. Part 1 includes international yearbooks and serials, Part 2 contains U.S. Law Digests, Part 3 consists of international tribunals and judicial decisions and Part 4 includes other significant works relating to foreign and international law.

Full-text access to over 1100 law journals; U.S. treaties; the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Reports; U.S. Code; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; Public Papers of the President and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents; and hundred of books considered to be legal classics.

Full-text images of over 1,100 journals back to issue 1 of volume 1 of the each title. The goal of the Hein company is eventually to scan every law review title ever published. To see the current holdings of HeinOnline, click the "Collection Index" link on the top left-hand side of the screen.

Contains thousands of contemporary and historical documents, as well as many features to enable browsing and searching across the constitutional law of more than 190 countries. For every constitutional document, researchers can find the original text, amending laws, consolidated text,, and important related texts. It also contains constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Factbook,

links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.

Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.

Coverage and analysis of U.S. congressional legislation from 1945 to today. Provides in-depth analysis of the path legislation takes through Congress, including how bills are changed, derailed, or ultimately passed during an annual session of Congress. Updated annually.

Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. All aspects of historical research. Time span: 1964-present.

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 (and eventually back to 1836) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Provides comprehensive coverage of every open committee and subcommittee markup, as well as some that are closed. Provides the debates and discussions that take place during markup sessions, as well as summaries of all amendments offered roll-call vote breakdowns, links to committee amendment text and voice-vote outcomes. 1989 - present.

Full-text database that provides comprehensive analysis of each topic, including history and background information, relevant pro & con arguments, current status, bibliographies, contact information, and outlooks on upcoming "hot topics" in current events. Covers news topics in a wide range of subject fields, from social issues to the environment, health, education, politics, and science and technology. Online access to issues dating back to 1923

Full text of the United States Code, 1925-1926 to the present. This is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It can be browsed by volume and searched by title or citation.