Research Guides: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein: Romanticism and Gothic Literature

Romanticism and Gothic Literature

Romanticism
Gothic Literature

ROMANTICISM: IMAGINING FREEDOM: The rebellious artist, the attraction to the dark side, love and death, and the primacy of nature—all of these are themes that suffused the artistic and ideological revolution known as Romanticism. This program vividly conveys how new ways of thinking and seeing reshaped the humanities in the 18th and 19th centuries. The writings of Hölderlin, Emerson, Poe, Whitman, Byron, Wordsworth, and Keats, as well as the paintings of Turner and Goya and the music of Beethoven, are vibrantly presented. Scholars Susan Wolfson, professor of English at Princeton University; Rafael Argullol Murgados, director of the Institut Universitari de Cultura; Xavier Antich, professor of aesthetics at the Universitat de Girona; and David Reynolds, distinguished professor of English at Baruch College, CUNY, discuss the characteristics of this influential movement and its impact on contemporary culture.

The Cambridge Companion to British Romanticism by Stuart Curran (Editor)
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks PR457 .C33 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This new edition of The Cambridge Companion to British Romanticism has been fully revised and updated and includes two wholly new essays, one on recent developments in the field, and one on the rapidly expanding publishing industry of this period. It also features a comprehensive chronology and a fully up-to-date guide to further reading. For the past decade and more the Companion has been a much-admired and widely-used account of the phenomenon of British Romanticism that has inspired students to look at Romantic literature from a variety of critical angles and approaches. In this new incarnation, the volume will continue to be a standard guide for students of Romantic literature and its contexts.
The Cambridge Companion to Fiction in the Romantic Period by Richard Maxwell (Editor); Katie Trumpener (Editor); Richard Maxwell (Editor)
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks PR858.R73 C36 2008
ISBN: 9780521862523
Publication Date: 2008
While poetry has been the genre most closely associated with the Romantic period, the novel of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries has attracted many more readers and students in recent years. Its canon has been widened to include less well known authors alongside Jane Austen, Walter Scott, Maria Edgeworth and Thomas Love Peacock. Over the last generation, especially, a remarkable range of popular works from the period have been re-discovered and reread intensively. This Companion offers an overview of British fiction written between roughly the mid-1760s and the early 1830s and is an ideal guide to the major authors, historical and cultural contexts, and later critical reception. The contributors to this volume represent the most up-to-date directions in scholarship, charting the ways in which the period's social, political and intellectual redefinitions created new fictional subjects, forms and audiences.
Encyclopedia of Romanticism by Laura Dabundo
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2009
First Published in 1992, this encyclopedia is designed to survey the social, cultural and intellectual climate of English Romanticism from approximately the 1780s and the French Revolution to the 1830s and the Reform Bill. Focussing on OCythe spirit of the ageOCO, the book deals with the aesthetic, scientific, socioeconomic OCo indeed the human OCo environment in which the Romantics flourished. The books considers poets, playwrights and novelists; critics, editors and booksellers; painters, patrons and architects; as well as ideas, trends, fads, and conventions, the familiar and the newly discovered. The book will be of use for everyone from undergraduate English students, through to thesis-driven graduate students to teaching faculty and scholars."
Romanticism and the Emotions by Joel Faflak (Editor); Richard C. Sha (Editor)
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks
Publication Date: 2014
There has recently been a resurgence of interest in the importance of the emotions in Romantic literature and thought. This collection, the first to stress the centrality of the emotions to Romanticism, addresses a complex range of issues including the relation of affect to figuration and knowing, emotions and the discipline of knowledge, the motivational powers of emotion, and emotions as a shared ground of meaning. Contributors offer significant new insights on the ways in which a wide range of Romantic writers, including Jane Austen, William Wordsworth, Immanuel Kant, Lord Byron, Mary and Percy Bysshe Shelley, Thomas De Quincey and Adam Smith, worried about the emotions as a register of human experience. Though varied in scope, the essays are united by the argument that the current affective and emotional turn in the humanities benefits from a Romantic scepticism about the relations between language, emotion and agency.

CLICK HERE IF VIDEO DOES NOT LOAD

THE CITY AND THE SOUL: As the Industrial Revolution promised more and more inexplicable wonders of the modern world, Gothic art and literature became both backward and forward looking. In her novel Frankenstein, Mary Shelley warned of the dangers of how science could get out of control, while Sir Giles Gilbert Scott used Gothic architecture to memorialise Prince Albert as a medieval hero. Meanwhile, poets indulged in hallucinatory drugs to reach new Gothic heights. Where would it all end? A BBC Production.

Gothic Literature by Andrew Smith
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks PR408.G68 S65 2007
Publication Date: 2007
This introductory study provides a thorough grounding in both the history of Gothic literature and the way in which Gothic texts have been (and can be) critically read.The book opens with a chronology and an introduction to the principaltexts and key critical terms, followed by four chapters: The GothicHeyday 1760-1820; Gothic 1820-1865; Gothic Proximities 1865-1900; and theTwentieth Century. The discussion examines how the Gothic has developed in different national contexts and in different forms, including novels, novellas, poems, and films. Each chapter concludes with a close reading of a specific text - Frankenstein, Jane Eyre, Draculaand The Silence of the Lambs- to illustrate the ways in which contextual discussion informs critical analysis. The book ends with a conclusion outlining possible future developments within scholarship on the Gothic.Key Features* Provides a single, comprehensive and accessible introduction to Gothic literature* Offers a coherent account of the historical development of the Gothic in arange of literary and national contexts* Introduces the ways in which critical theories of class, gender, race andnational identity have been applied to Gothic texts*Includes an outline of essential resources and a guide to further reading
Gothic Literature a Gale Critical Companion by Thomson Gale
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2006
This is the fourth set in the Gale Critical Companion Collection, the series that provides a broad contextual understanding of topics in literature and the humanities. This exciting new three-volume set spans all facets of the gothic, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, themes and much more. Authors covered include Margaret Atwood, Stephen King, Edgar Allan Poe, Shelley, Bram Stoker, Oscar Wilde and many others. Complete with primary source documents and critical material to provide contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, and commentaries, this new set benefits everyone from gothic researchers to the general fiction reader.
The Handbook to Gothic Literature by Marie Mulvey-Roberts
Call Number: McKeldin Reference Stacks PN3435 .H35 1998
Publication Date: 1998
From Anne Rice's best-selling novels to our recurrent interest in vampires and the occult, the Gothic has an unyielding hold on our imagination. But what exactly does "Gothic" mean? How does it differ from "terror" or "horror," and where do its parameters lie? Through a wide and eclectic range of brief essays written by leading scholars, The Handbook to Gothic Literature provides a virtual encyclopedia of things Gothic. From the Demonic to the Uncanny, the Bronte sisters to Melville, this volume plots the characteristics of Gothic's vastly different schools and manifestations, offering a comprehensive guide of Gothic writing and culture. Among the many topics and literary figures discussed are: American Gothic, Ambrose Bierce, the Bronte Sisters, Angela Carter, the Demonic, Female Gothic, the Frenetique School, Ghost Stories, Gothic Film, the Graveyard School, Horror, Imagination, Washington Irving, Henry James, H.P. Lovecraft, Madness, Herman Melville, Monstrosity, Occultism, Orientalism, Post-Colonial Gothic, Anne Radcliffe, Anne Rice, Romanticism, Sado-Masochism, Mary and P. B. Shelley, Bram Stoker, the Sublime, the Uncanny, Vampires, Werewolves, Oscar Wilde, and Zerrissenheit.
History of the Gothic by Jarlath Killeen
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks PR830.T3 K55 2009
Publication Date: 2009
A book examining how themes and trends associated with the early Gothic novels were diffused widely in many genres in the Victorian period, including the ghost story, the detective story and the adventure story.
Sinister Histories: Gothic novels and representations of the past, from Horace Walpole to Mary Wollstonecraft by Jonathan Dent
Call Number: McKeldin Stacks PR408.G68 D46 2016
ISBN: 9780719095979
Publication Date: 2016
Sinister histories is the first book to offer a detailed exploration of the Gothic's response to Enlightenment historiography. It uncovers hitherto-neglected relationships between fiction and prominent works of eighteenth-century history, locating the Gothic novel in a range of newinterdisciplinary contexts. Drawing on ideas from literary studies, history, politics and philosophy, the book demonstrates the extent to which historical works influenced and shaped Gothic fiction from the 1760s to the early nineteenth century. Through a series of detailed readings of texts fromThe Castle of Otranto (1764) to Maria, or The Wrongs of Woman (1798), this book offers an alternative account of the Gothic's development and a sustained revaluation of the creative legacies of the French Revolution.