Biology

Covering every aspect of animal behaviour from adaptation to warning, this accessible A-Z also includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. Clear and informative entries on topics such as communication, learning, and navigation are backed up by examples and illustrations where appropriate. The new edition adds 80 new entries, expands coverage of behavioural ecology, cognitive ethology, and evolutionary theory, and brings the text up to date with new theories and research.

This fully revised, updated, and expanded dictionary contains over 6,500 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology. It also includes many line drawings and useful appendices.

This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date paperback dictionary of botany available. It contains over 5,500 clear and concise entries on all aspects of botany including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and the earth sciences. Classification is comprehensive and wide ranging: approximately one-third of the entries are devoted to taxonomic groups from bacteria and fungi, to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants.This fascinating dictionary is invaluable to students, amateur botanists and naturalists, and essential reading for anyone with an interest in plants and their environments. It will also provide a useful reference tool for students and others with interests in agriculture, horticulture, physical geography, and related fields.

The dynamic nature of science and scientific progress has required a completely revised, updated and expanded version of this hugely successful book, which remains the most wide-ranging and comprehensive dictionary for the study of natural history in its broadest sense. There are over 11,000 entries, providing a working dictionary for students, teachers, researchers and others having an interest within the broad arena of biodiversity studies. The coverage cuts across classical disciplines (botany, zoology, bacteriology, mineralogy, palaeontology, etc.), focusing particularly on concepts, strategies and methodologies. New information in the book reflects major scientific developments, hence special attention is given to terminology relating to molecular techniques and to terminology generated by recent initiatives in the study of biological diversity and global climate change.

"Words are our tools, and, as a minimum, we should use clean tools. We should know what we mean and what we do not, and we must forearm ourselves against the traps that language sets us." -- The Need for Precise Terminology, Austin (1957, 7-8) It follows that, for effective and efficient communication, people should have, or at least understand, the same precise terminology. Such terminology is crucial for the advancement of basic, theoretical, and applied science, yet too often there is ambiguity between scientific and common definitions and even discrepancies in the scientific literature. Providing a common ground and platform for precise scientific communication in animal behavior, ecology, evolution, and related branches of biology, Animal Behavior Desk Reference, A Dictionary of Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution, Third Edition contains more than 800 new terms and definitions, 48 new figures, and thousands of additions and improvements. Using a dictionary format to present definitions in a standard, easily accessible manner, the book's main body emphasizes conceptual terms, rather than anatomical parts or taxonomic terms, and focuses on nouns, rather than verbs or adjectives. Term hierarchies are handled with bulleted entries and terms with multiple definitions are included as superscripted entries. All sources are cited and most are paraphrased to conform to uniform style and length. The dictionary also includes nontechnical and obsolete terms, synonyms, pronunciations, and notes and comments, as well as etymologies, term originators, and related facts. Appendices address organism names, organizations, and databases. Devoted to the precise and correct use of scientific language, this third edition of a bestsellingnbsp;standard enables students and scientists alike to communicate their findings and promote the efficient advancement of science.

The lingo of soil science is a language unto itself. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary is a glossary of terms used in soil and environmental science, including terms from related disciplines. Designed for teachers, students, researchers and others interested or involved in environmental sciences related to soils, this compilation includes all terms and definitions from the current Canadian Society of Soil Science (CSSS) glossary as well as from various other sources such as the Soil Science Society of America and the Soil and Water Conservation Society. Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary defines terms accurately and clearly for professionals working in areas such as agronomy, building construction, civil engineering, forestry, environmental science and planning, geology, hydrology, petrology, and plant science.

The Concise Illustrated Dictionary of Biocontrol Terms includes basic terminology related to the biological control of pests, together with state-of-the-art scientific and practical terms, for expedient comprehension and analysis of present, forecasted or in situ pest management problems. In addition, it also provides the names of the most common pesticides and predators commercially available in different continents (Americas, Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa), as well as target pests and diseases of these agents, making it a tangible tool for prompt management actions. The dictionary is copiously illustrated with original pictures clarifying the most commonly used terms and the identity of organisms in biocontrol technology, with content that is both scientifically rigorous and clear. The biological control of pests using living organisms, or products from their activities, is an independent branch of science based on multiple disciplines including general biology, zoology, entomology, phytopathology, microbiology and others. As a result, the field of biological control has its own specific terminology that needs to be understood and applied correctly across this variety of disciplines, including among those approaching the field from a different area of expertise and who may have difficulty understanding the terms used by experts in the field. This compact illustrated guide will appeal to the scientific community working in integrated pest management disciplines, as well as those researching, studying, and working with interest in protecting natural resources at a global, local, and individual level, in a variety of locations including the lab, garden, field, or forest. Enables understanding of the terminology used in biological control for professionals, researchers and students in a variety of scientific fields Features clear images and photographs to help identify insects and pathogens Ideal for in situ use in both the lab and field pest management protocols