There are multiple ways to use this guide. The resources are listed alphabetically. Use the Index on the left to jump to a particular microform.Clicking on the call number will open a link to the full catalog record in UMD's online catalog. Clicking on the 'Full Description' will expand the text for an overview of that collection. Print and online indexes and finding aids, as well as digitized versions of the collections, are listed under other sources when available. (Some of these are outside links not maintained by the University. To report broken links, please click on the 'comment' link at the top of the page or contact the author of the Guide.)
Location & Call Number: MCK-PER Microfiche L900.C6
The collection contains catalogs of nearly all two- and four-year colleges in the United States and its territories (Canan Zone, Caroline Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, Samoa, Virgin Islands). There is also a large collection of foreign catalogs which we now receive. The collection also includes special bulletins which give title fund information, medical school admission requirements, information about foreign colleges, citations for educational directories, etc. Graduate and undergraduate catalogs are so designated.
Access to the college catalogs is through the index which is continually revised to include the most recent editions. Educational directories appear under their respective places of publication. Catalogs of colleges in U.S.territories and foreign countries, as well as special bulletins, are listed at the end of the index.
Microfiche are arranged by alphanumeric designation keyed to state name.
Current college catalogs and the index are kept at the desk in the Periodicals-Microforms Room.
The indexes to individual college catalogs are located at the end or in the last column of the fiche for each college.
Publisher's title: Microfiche College Catalog Collection.
Location & Call Number: MCK-PER Microfiche
ERIC is a nationwide information network for acquiring, selecting, abstracting, indexing, storing, retrieving, and disseminating educational research reports.
Resources in Education (RIE) indexes and abstracts educational material not otherwise published. The reports are indexes by subject, author and institution, and are available on microfiche.
Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) indexes about 800 journals by subject, author and journal contents (Ref Z 5813.C8). These articles, prefaced by EJ numbers, are not available on microfiche.
The microfiche are arranged consecutively by ED (ERIC Document) number, in the Periodicals Room.
The ED numbers (ED 063 398) are used to access the documents on microfiche. In addition, each item is assigned a unique code (CE 038 987) which identifies the clearinghouse which issued it. Monthly issues of RIE have cross-reference tables which relate clearing house numbers to ED numbers.
The Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors can be used to find correct subject headings.
MP numbers and ES numbers are no longer used. MP numbers were indexed in Manpower Research Inventory (Ref Z 7164.L1MI33 1966-1988, 1969/1970). ES numbers were indexed in Pacesetters in Innovation (Ref LB 2825.P3 1966-1969).
AIM and ARM--Materials from the Center for Vocational and Technical Education are best accessed through the following tools:
AIM and ARM were combined in 1974 to form:
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location & Call Number: McK Microfiche LA1311.82.A2E38 1990 (461 Microfiche)
The collection reproduces English-language materials documenting the educational plans, programs and policies of the American authorities who administered the Occupation of Japan in the name of the Allied Powers, as they "sought to purge Japanese education of the militarism and nationalism of the prewar years and to build an educational system that promoted democratic ideals and principals." The materials have been collected from depositories and archives throughout the United States.
The collection is divided into 3 parts:
The index contains the Introduction, describing the historical background of educational reform in occupied Japan, and the Review of Collection Contents, a more detailed description of the content and significance of each group of documents. Following this is the Bibliography of Documents along with an index by subjects and names, and an index by document numbers.
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-CARD and M-FICHE
The emphasis of this collection is on unpublished research materials which have national significance, such as doctoral dissertations, masters' theses and out-of-print scholarly books and journals.
These publications have been issued on both microcard and microfiche. Items are cataloged individually. Microcards are filed alphabetically by main entry in the microcard cabinet in the Periodicals/Microforms Room. The microfiche are filed by call number with the microfiche collections. Beginning with volume three, all publications are on microfiche.
The printed Bulletin (Ref GV 201 .H4) serves as a guide to the collection. The cumulative issues include subject and author indexes.
The Bulletin is updated by spring and fall supplements, arranged by broad category, which cumulate at irregular intervals.
The microfiche have color-coded header strips which correspond to the categories in the Bulletin: Physical Education (red), Physiology of Exercise (yellow), Recreation and Camping (brown), Health Education (white) and Psychology (pink).
The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:
