The web resources listed here will help you find historical Virginia newspapers via the Internet. Some sites provide full text access to the newspapers, while others direct you to physical or microform holdings at libraries around the state.
The Virginia Newspaper Project is part of the United States Newspaper Program, a national effort to locate, describe, inventory, preserve, and provide public access to the newspapers housed around the country. This page provides a bibliography of the newspapers cataloged and inventoried by the Virginia Newspaper Project and will help you locate microfilmed copies in a library.
The Fairfax County Public Library's Historical Newspaper Index contains over one million records from ten local newspapers. The index allows users to locate where given topics, subjects, or events are mentioned in the newspapers over time. The physical newspapers are available at the Virginia Room in the City of Fairfax Regional Library, 10360 North Street, Fairfax, Virginia 22030
Maintained by the University of Virginia, this site provides access to primary source information from Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania during the Civil War era. Included are church records, maps, transcripts of newspapers, and more.
The Colonial Williamsburg Library provides full-text access to the Virginia Gazette. Published weekly in Williamsburg from 1736-1780, the newspaper covers all of Virginia and includes some information for other colonies, along with Scotland and England.
This work indexes the Virginia Gazette, a newspaper published in Williamsburg, Virginia while that city was the capital of the colony. The index can be used in tandem with the online access to the newspaper provided in the left-hand box on this page.