Research Guides: Historical U.S. Newspapers: Maryland

Maryland Newspapers in the University Collection

Newspapers in Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections at the University of Maryland maintains a large collection of historical newspapers from the state of Maryland and the University of Maryland College Park campus. Search the following databases or explore the following collections to learn more about our Maryland newspapers.

To learn more about Special Collections at Maryland, visit their website, or review this subject guide about the Maryland Room's reference resources.

Maryland Newspapers on Microfilm
Among the microfilm newspaper collection at McKeldin Library are a number of titles from the state of Maryland. Such publications include the Maryland Gazette of Annapolis, the Sun from Baltimore, and the Frederick Herald. Refer to the Newspapers on Microfilm section of this guide guide for more information about accessing the microfilm collection.

UMD Student Newspapers
Searchable database of various newspapers published by students on the UMD campus with issues dating back to 1910.

Gateway to Digitized Maryland Newspapers
"The Gateway to Digitized Maryland Newspapers is a resource that compiles information about Maryland newspapers that have been digitized and are accessible online."

Baltimore News American collection
The Baltimore News American Collection consists of materials that document the history of the News American and its predecessors. The collection dates from 1773-2006 with the bulk of material dating between 1930 and 1973. It includes photographs, newspaper clippings, library files, correspondence, scrapbooks, unpublished and published manuscripts, editorial style guides, subscriber materials, an oral history, employee newsletters, and original newspapers. This is a rich resource to study the history of mid-20th century America.
Original Newspaper collection
The Original Newspaper Collection has a growing collection of newspaper titles. The majority of the newspapers date from the 19th and 20th centuries; however, a select few date back to the 18th century. Many of the newspapers were published in Baltimore, but other regional papers do appear in this collection. Some exceptional newspapers include the first issue of the Maryland Journal and Baltimore Advertiser, published in 1773, which was the first newspaper printed in Baltimore, as well as original copies of newspapers announcing important historic events such as President Kennedy's assasination and the announcement of the second World War in 1941.
Diamondback
The University of Maryland's student newspaper, originally known as The Triangle, was established in 1910. The paper underwent several name changes, including The M.A.C. Weekly, Maryland State Review, and University Review, before being renamed The Diamondback in 1921. This collection consists of over 18,000 photographs taken for the Diamondback newspaper, spanning from the 1960s through 2000s. The photographs document every aspect of campus life at Maryland -- faculty, staff, students, buildings and grounds, academics, athletics, performing arts, special events -- as well as the city of College Park and other topics of local or national interest.
The Black Explosion
A student newspaper aiming to offer a black perspective on UMD student life.

About the Student Newspaper Collection

The University of Maryland Student Newspaper Database contains digitized and searchable versions of major student newspapers produced on the University of Maryland campus. Student newspapers on campus reflect current events, campus happenings, and student interests throughout the history of the University. In collaboration with the Libraries’ Digital Systems and Services (DSS) division, University Archives digitized these newspapers for public access through the database. Digitization is ongoing, with more recent issues of The Diamondback and additional student newspapers still to be added. The database currently contains 5 publications, date ranges for digitized materials are detailed below.

The Diamondback and its predecessor papers, January 1, 1910 - August 21, 2008

To access current issues of The Diamondback visit: http://www.dbknews.com/

Black Explosion, May 1970 - December 2015/January 2016

To access current issues of The Black Explosion visit: https://www.blackexplosionnews.com/

Mitzpeh, September 14, 1983 - November 5, 2015

To access current issues of Mitzpeh visit: http://umdmitzpeh.com/

The Eclipse. September 16, 1985 - May 2013

Argus, March 10, 1972- September 3, 1982

Follow this link to the Digitized Student Newspapers

Online Resources

Maryland State Archives- Early State Records Online
This site from the Maryland State Archives provides access to a selection of historical newspapers in an online format. The newspapers are viewed as electronic images of the original microfilm.
Maryland Newspaper Project - Guide to Maryland Newspapers
The Maryland Newspaper Project is Maryland's component of the US Newspaper Project. This site provides information about the newspapers that have been microfilmed so far and where copies of the microfilm can be found. Users can look for information on newspapers by title, date, or county of publication.

Helpful Reference Works

These five books can serve as guides for finding historical newspapers throughout Maryland and learning more about the state's newspaper history.

A Guide to Maryland Newspapers : Featuring the Newspaper Collections of the Maryland State Archives by Edward C. Papenfuse, et al
Call Number: Hornbake Maryland Reference: PN4897.M33 G85 1993
Publication Date: 1993
A Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Holdings in Maryland / The Maryland Newspaper Project by Maryland Department of Education
Call Number: McKeldin Reference: PN4897.M33 M26 1991
Publication Date: 1991
Light for All : a History of the Baltimore Sun, 1837-1987 by University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Call Number: Hornbake Maryland Room: PN4899.B27 U55 1987
Publication Date: 1987
Newspapers of Maryland's Eastern Shore by Dickson J. Preston
Call Number: McKeldin Reference: PN4897.M233 P7 1986
Publication Date: 1986-02-01
Western Maryland Newspaper Abstracts : Compilation of Items Taken from the Available Newspapers of Hagerstown and Frederick Maryland. by Edward F. Wright
Call Number: Hornbake Maryland Folio: F186.9 .W75 1985
Publication Date: 1985