Preparing for a Recital

Full-text access to the following standard reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. All of these are also available in print in the reference section of the Performing Arts Library. Oxford Music Online is an excellent complement to Classical Music Reference Library and the two resources should be used in tandem.
(11 simultaneous users.)

Classical Music Library is a large multi-label database of Classical music recordings with a particular focus on content that meets the needs of educators and students. Audio tracks are supplemented by reference materials and backed by tools allowing users to create their own Playlists or to click on Themed Playlists that group tracks in various ways: e.g., by music textbook, composer, performer, style period, genre. Provides in-depth coverage of classical music from its inception to modern recordings. Approximately 20,000 licensed recordings are included along with thousands of biographies. Middle Ages to present.

87,000 tracks for online listening, including Naxos classical, jazz, world-music and historical releases, and Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues. Naxos Historical, Nostalgia, and Jazz Legends recordings are not available in the United States due to the uncertain legal situation regarding pre-1972 sound recordings.

A scholarly resource for recordings by American composers and performers. It provides CD quality streaming audio, complete and original liner notes, and essays from independent record labels and sound archives including New World Records, CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening, and Mutable Music labels.

RIPM is the primary research tool for accessing 19th- and early 20th- century periodical literature on music. The resource provides an annotated index to over 135 important journals, with more than half being available as full-text. New titles are added every 6 months. The journals covered are in 14 different languages and originate chiefly from Europe and North America.

An international bibliography of nearly 500,000 scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 140 languages. RILM indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more.

Encompasses historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics. 1967 - present.
ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First