Research Guides: Italian Studies: Principal Databases

Useful Databases

To find book chapters and journal articles on your topic, consult the following databases, available via Database Finder. Since Italian Studies can be very inter-disciplinary, please see the "Related Databases" tab for topics such as Literature, History, Women's Studies, etc. If you are off campus, you may be prompted to login with your directory ID and password.

International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes articles, conference proceedings, and Festschriften on all aspects of medieval studies in the period of 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
Iter
Citations to journal articles, books, bibliographies, and book reviews about the period 400 - 1700. A growing database. To date, full runs of 632 scholarly journals have been indexed from as far back as 1842.

Italinemo
Analysis and indexing of Italian Studies journals published since 2000. One can search by author, title, keywords, etc.

Italian Full-Text Collections

As repositories of digitized publications, these databases (available freely on the web) provide electronic access to Italian works.

Biblioteca dei Classici Italiani
Collection of nearly 500 full-text classics of Italian literature, arranged by author, period, and movement. Some critical works such as biographies are included.
Italian Women Writers
"The Italian Women Writers database provides bio-bibliographical information and a growing selection of full-text titles from authors born before 1945."
Dartmouth Dante Project
A searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy, as well as the full-text of the work itself.
Decameron Web
Online Decameron "encyclopedia," which includes biographical information, the full text in Italian and English, plus annotations, commentaries, and bibliographies.