Research Guides: Chesapeake Bay: Resources in Special Collections: Online Resources

Guides and Resources

Below is a list of websites that offer online resources about various topics on the Chesapeake Bay.

About the Bay
A comprehensive resource on the history, environment, wildlife, and habitats of the Chesapeake Bay region. Compiled by the Chesapeake Bay program.
Bay Beat
The Bay Beat is a cooperative multimedia project of advanced journalism students at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland, College Park.
Bay History
A brief overview and a list of resources on the history of the Chesapeake bay, compiled by the Chesapeake Bay Program.
Bay History & Culture
A list of resources on the history and culture of the Chesapeake Bay area. Compiled by the Maryland Sea Grant.
Chesapeake Bay Links
Links to online resources about the Chesapeake Bay, compiled by UM Chesapeake.
Chesapeake Bay Restoration
A list of resources on the environmental state laws and regulations aimed at restoring the Chesapeake Bay. Created by the Maryland Department of the Environment.
Maryland at a Glance- Chesapeake Bay
A brief guide created by the Maryland State Archives as part of the Maryland Manual Online: A Guide to Maryland Government.
Resources for Students and Teachers
A list of general resources compiled by the Chesapeake Bay Foundation.

Databases and Journals

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.

Database Finder offers online access to databases and journal articles, and is available only at University of Maryland Libraries or to University of Maryland staff and students. A selection of these resources is provided below.

Baltimore Sun (1990 to present)
Provides citations, abstracts and full-text articles from the newspaper. Coverage of local and state news for Baltimore and Maryland. Full-text: September, 1990--present
Baltimore Sun, the (1837-1994) (Historical Newspapers)
Provides complete issues of The Baltimore Sun from 1837-1992. Search by keyword and more....
Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR)
Online version of the Code of Maryland Regulations. Maryland State agency regulations are compiled in the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR). COMAR contains 33 Titles, with each Title usually corresponding to a department or agency. Each regulation is assigned a unique four-part codification number. For example, 09.12.01.02, represents Title 09, Subtitle 12, Chapter 01, and Regulation 02.
Greenwire
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy, includes summaries of important energy and environmental policy coverage from hundreds of print, broadcast and online sources, including editorials. Greenwire's archive of key documents provides direct links to reports, analyses, memos, court cases and over 30,000 Greenwire stories. Includes new video and transcripts. State, national, and international coverage of environmental and energy-related politics, news, policy, and markets. 1996 to the present. Updated daily.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Springer eBooks (2005-2011)
Accurate reproductions of over 30,000 Springer print book publications, with search capabilities and bookmarks.
Washington Post (1987-)
Provides citations and full-text articles from the newspaper. Coverage of local, national, and international news. Particularly known for its political reporting. Full-text: January, 1987--present
Washington Post (1877-2003) (Historical Newspapers)
The Washington Post (1877-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. There are no ISBNs in this resource. Subjects are searchable, but do not appear in the records.
There are no ISBNs in this resource. Subjects are searchable, but do not appear in the records.

Chesapeake Bay Organizations

Below is a list of websites created by organizations and foundations devoted to monitoring and protecting the Chesapeake Bay region.

Bay Stat
Created by Governor Martin O’Malley in 2007 to serve as a statewide tool designed to assess, coordinate and target Maryland’s Bay restoration programs, and to inform our citizens on progress.
Chesapeake Bay Foundation
The Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF) is the only independent 501(c)(3) organization dedicated solely to restoring and protecting the Chesapeake Bay and its tributary rivers.
Chesapeake Bay Program
The Chesapeake Bay Program is a unique regional partnership that has led and directed the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay since 1983. The Chesapeake Bay Program partners include the states of Maryland, Pennsylvania and Virginia; the District of Columbia; the Chesapeake Bay Commission, a tri-state legislative body; the Environmental Protection Agency, representing the federal government; and participating citizen advisory groups.
Chesapeake Bay Trust
The Chesapeake Bay Trust is an independent, nonprofit grant-making organization chartered in 1985 by the Maryland General Assembly to engage the public in the protection and restoration of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributary rivers and streams.
Chesapeake Research Consortium
The Chesapeake Research Consortium, Inc. (CRC) is a non-profit 501(c)3 corporation chartered by the State of Maryland. It is an association of six institutions, each with long-standing research on problems affecting the Chesapeake Bay and its watershed.
Maryland Sea Grant
Established in 1977, Maryland Sea Grant has been a dedicated leader in efforts to protect and restore Maryland's coastal resources. Both on its own and in collaboration with its many partners, Sea Grant proactively addresses the scientific, economic, and social challenges facing the Chesapeake Bay.
UM Chesapeake
Focuses on the research efforts on the Chesapeake Bay conducted by the University of Maryland College Park, the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Research, and other campuses.

Digital Collections

Select archival and special collection materials have been digitized and made available online through the Digital Collection @ the University of Maryland, a searchable digital repository of scanned materials from the University of Maryland's libraries.

Use the keyword search box on the homepage to search collection by keywords. You may also search using the provided subject browse terms, including an "Agriculture, Environment, Conservation, the Natural World" category.