It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visit the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library North to speak to reference librarian about our collections. Maryland Room hours can be found online.
Contact us for questions about Special Collections and University Archives.
Researching the Chesapeake Bay
Welcome to the Maryland Room Guide to the Chesapeake Bay
This guide provides an introduction to researching topics associated with the Chesapeake Bay region. These resources cover a variety of subjects, including environmental issues, history, navigation, and culture of the Bay region. An extensive list of online resources, including websites for the various Chesapeake Bay organizations and foundations, is also provided.
The materials in this guide are primarily available in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library. It highlights primary and secondary sources available in the Special Collections in Hornbake Library, as well as additional online resources. However, the search strategies and subject headings used can be used to locate additional materials available in McKeldin Library in the UMD online catalog.
There are several places you can go to begin your research on the Chesapeake Bay. Use the links below to view specific resources and topics, or browse the guide using the tabs at the top if the page.
Ecology and the Environment: An introduction to locating environmental resources on the Chesapeake Bay. Includes a list of suggested subject headings.
Navigation and History: An introduction to locating resources on the history and navigation of the Chesapeake Bay. Includes a list of suggested subject headings.
Society and Culture: An introduction to locating resources on the society and culture of the Chesapeake Bay, including novels set on the Bay and pictorial works. Also with a list of suggested subject headings.
Maps: Information about searching for maps of the Chesapeake Bay region.
Photographs: An overview of searching for photographs of the Chesapeake Bay using the Baltimore News American Photograph Collection.
Online Resources: A list of online resources, databases, and digitized collections pertaining to the Chesapeake Bay. Includes a list of websites for various Chesapeake Bay organizations and environmental programs.