Research Guides: ENSP 102: Introduction to Environmental Policy: Start Here: III: Newspaper Articles

News Articles

Greenwire
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy, includes summaries of important energy and environmental policy coverage from hundreds of print, broadcast and online sources, including editorials. Greenwire's archive of key documents provides direct links to reports, analyses, memos, court cases and over 30,000 Greenwire stories. Includes new video and transcripts. State, national, and international coverage of environmental and energy-related politics, news, policy, and markets. 1996 to the present. Updated daily.

Search by keyword and filter by:
date
region
topic
publication (Climatewire, Energywire...)

This search: microplastics AND (marine OR ocean OR water)

Greenwire Microplastics Marine or ocean or water search results

Search Tips:

The search supports the following Boolean operators:

AND, OR, NOT must be capitalized.
Search will capture keyword in plural form within quotes (e.g., Liability can pull both ‘liability’ and ‘liabilities’).
Use “” quotation marks to search for exact phrase.
Parentheses () can be used with the operators above.
Proximity searching requires a specific syntax:
- Phrases must be in quotes and cannot appear between words within quotes.
- For example, “Biden McConnell Pelosi”~30
  
  Search is not in a specific order meaning McConnell could appear before Biden. It also does not search across fields (e.g., (proximity): ‘Biden’ and ‘McConnell’ and ‘Pelosi’ within 30 words)

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.

1. place phrases in quotes
"wind power"

2. use - or - for synonyms
cafo* or "concentrated animal feed operation*"

There are several ways to formulate your search. Keep in mind though that because this is a full text database, using - and - to connect your concepts will, in most cases, result in a large number of items and many will not be relevant.

Best to try and bring the word/s closer together.

Bring the words closer together:
/s = same sentence
"atlantic salmon" /s (gmo* or "genetically modified organisim*")
microplastics /s (marine or ocean or water)

/p = same paragraph
"atlantic salmon" /p (gmo* or "genetically modified organisim*")
microplastics /p (marine or ocean or water)

hlead(...) - limit to headline and lead paragraphs (you can use -and- here since you are limiting where the words appear
hlead("atlantic salmon" and (gmo* or "genetically modified organisim*"))

Filters on the left:
search within
date
publication type - then sources
etc.

Example:

"atlantic salmon" /p (gmo* or "genetically modified organisim*")

NexisUni Search Salmon GMO same paragraph

Lots of ways to limit the results:
Change sort from Relevance to Newest to Oldest (upper right)
Search Within
Timeline

Nexis Uni Atlantic Salmon GMO Results

Looking for a specific area?
Narrow By:
Location
Publication Type - then Location
Geography by Document

National Newspapers Core
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Sun (Baltimore), and The Washington Post. Covers national, international and local news. The NYT provides text of important speeches and documents; WSJ reports on international finance; and WP offers strong political reporting, editorials and columnists.

Similar to Nexis Uni, because this is a full text database, using - and - to connect your concepts will, in most cases, result in a large number of items and many will not be relevant.

You can start with using - and - but might be best to try and bring the word/s closer together and/or change the search field.

To bring the words closer together use N/#
"renewable energy" N/5 subsid*
microplastics N/5 (marine or ocean or water)

You can use -and - but, if you retrieve too many results, tre changing the search field from Anywhere to:
Anywhere except full text - NOFT
or
Abstract AB

Click on Advanced Search to get started

National Newspapers Core search renewable energy