Research Guides: Civil Rights Movement in Maryland: Online Resources

Databases and Journals

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.

Database Finder offers online access to databases and journal articles, and is available only at University of Maryland Libraries or to University of Maryland staff and students.

African American Studies Database List
Database Finder offers a list of online databases covering African American studies topics, including historical newspapers.

America: History & Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. All aspects of historical research. Time span: 1964-present.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Oxford African American Studies Center
A full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and timelines. The core content of the electronic file consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional reference titles include the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; Oxford Companion to Black British History; and selected articles from other major reference titles.

Websites

This list includes guides, exhibits, digitized materials, and other resources on the Civil Rights Movement in Maryland and across United States.

Baltimore '68: Riots and Rebirth
An online resource from the University of Baltimore about the history and impact of the 1968 riots in Baltimore City.
Civil Rights Digital Library
An extensive collection of digitized resources about the Civil Rights Movement across the United States. Includes an interactive map, keyword search, and browsable index of people, places, and topics related to Civil Rights in America.
Civil Rights Resource Guide
A list of online resources pertaining to the Civil Rights Movement across America, compiled by the Library of Congress. Includes links to online exhibits, guides, bibliographies, and digitized resources.
Documents Related to Brown v. Board of Education
An extensive resource from the National Archives about the Brown v. Board of Education Decision. Provides access to digitized documents from the case, including the judgment and dissenting opinions.
Freedom Riders
Part of the American Experience series developed by PBS, this site provides extensive information about the civil rights activists who rode interstate buses from May until November 1961 in order to challenge segregation in America. Includes full episode and biographies of individuals involved.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
Online access to publications from the USCCR from the University of Maryland Thurgood Marshall Law Library. Searchable by date, subject, and geographic region.
The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
Created by PBS, this website offers information about the end of institutionalized slavery in America and the development of the Jim Crow laws. Includes interactive timelines and maps, as well as tools and activities for teachers.

Digital Collections

Select archival and special collection materials have been digitized and made available online through the Digital Collection @ the University of Maryland, a searchable digital repository of scanned materials from the University of Maryland's libraries.

Use the keyword search box on the homepage to search collection by keywords. For example, typing "civil rights Maryland" in the search box will retrieve materials realted to the Civil Right Movement in Maryland.

You may also search using the provided subject browse terms, which includes a "Civil Rights, Civil Engagement" subject.