Skip to Main Content

RESEARCH GUIDES

Thomas Bewick in Special Collections

A guide to resources on the life and work of Thomas Bewick available online and in Special Collections at the University of Maryland.

Books By Thomas Bewick

History of British Birds by Bewick, Thomas
Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Rare Stacks QL690.G7 B5 1797
A Memoir of Thomas Bewick, Written By Himself by Bewick, Thomas
Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Rare Stacks NE1212.B5 A3
A General History of Quadrupeds by Bewick, Thomas
Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Rare Stacks QL706 .B5 1790
ISBN: 9780226044811
Thomas Bewick’s Birds : Watercolours and Engravings by Bewick, Thomas
Call Number: UMCP Art Library Stacks QL690.G7 B523 1982
21 Engravings by Bewick, Thomas
Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Special Collections Stacks NE1212.B5 F4

Illustrations by Thomas Bewick

Aesop’s fables : in a new translation for modern readers by Aesop
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks PZ8.2.A254 Bew
Aesop’s Human Zoo : Roman stories about our bodies by Phaedrus; Translated by John Henderson
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks PA6564 .E5H455 2004
ISBN: 0226326810
The watercolours and drawings of Thomas Bewick and his Workshop Apprentices by Bain, Iain
Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Special Collections Stacks NE1212.B5 B34
Ask the Fellows Who Cut the Hay by Evans, George Ewart
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks DA690.B634 E9
ISBN: 9780571086481
Elegy written in a country churchyard : With the Complete Poems of Thomas Gray by Gray, Thomas
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks PR3500 .A2 1950

Books About Thomas Bewick

Nature's engraver: A Life of Thomas Bewick by Uglow, Jennifer S.
Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Special Collections Stacks NE1147.6.B47 U94 2007
ISBN: 0374112363
Bewick studies : essays in celebration of the 250th anniversary of the birth of Thomas Bewick, 1753-1828 by Gardner-Medwin, David
Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Special Collections NE1147.6.B47B5 2003
Thomas Bewick and the Art of Wood-Engraving by Winter, Sylvia
Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Special Collections Stacks NE1212.B5 W56 1960
Bookplates by Beilby & Bewick : a biographical dictionary of bookplates from the workshop of Ralph Beilby, Thomas Bewick & Robert Bewick, 1760-1849 by Tattersfield, Nigel
Call Number: UMCP HBK Mayland Room Special Collections Stacks Z994.G7 T38 1999
ISBN: 0712345086
Why Bewick Succeeded; A Note in the History of Wood Engraving by Kainen, Jacob
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Folio Q11 .U6 no. 218 pt. 11