Research Guides: Biographical Information on Scientists: Databases

Databases

_____________________________________________________________________

Because of licensing agreements, subscription databases are only accessible to current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Maryland, College Park. These users can access them through Database Finder.

American National Biography ANB online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. American National Biography (ANB) offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly.
Nexis Uni LexisNexis includes a reference search tool for biographical sources, obituaries, people-related news sources and selected biographical stories. Click on Reference (under "Academic Search Forms") and then on Biographical Information.
Oxford African American Studies Center A full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and timelines. The core content of the electronic file consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional reference titles include the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; Oxford Companion to Black British History; and selected articles from other major reference titles.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Biographies of more than 50,000 noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles. Portraits included for more than 10,000 entries. Biographical essay of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
Sage Reference Collection Online versions of published reference works from SAGE. A great place to begin your research.