It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources are a great way to start your research. They will help you define key terms, identify important themes and individuals in the field, and find keywords for further searching in catalogs and databases. Reference sources also include bibliographies that will help you identify important primary and secondary works in your subject area. Select one of the reference source types below to get started.
Two recommended places to start your research areGale Virtual Reference and Credo (see the "Credo, Gale, & Online Encyclopedias" tab).
References sources of UMCP can be either in print or electronic. In the area of education, the print Reference Stacks are usually located on the first floor of McKeldin Library; unless the catalog record gives a different location.
UMCP Online Resource is available to UMCP faculty, staff and students only.
Two recommended places to start your research areGale Virtual Reference and Credo (search below). Additional online encyclopedias are listed below to help you continue your research.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. It may take a moment to load the results of your search.
Click the button above to visit UMD's portal to the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Once you're there, click the Name link (highlighted in yellow), and then log in with your school ID to access the whole Gale collection.
Children's Core CollectionChildren's Core Collection provides titles chosen specifically for readers from preschool through grade five. Containing over 30,000 titles, this collection covers all genres.
Encyclopedia of educationThis 8 volume encyclopedia set provides a comprehensive overview of education within the United States and throughout the world. With over 850 cross-referenced entries, the entries address such items as K-12 education, higher education, international education, educational policy and legislation, learning and instruction, teacher preparation and testing. In addition, the encyclopedia has 121 biographical sketches of influential educators. Vol. 8 provides detailed entries for court cases, legislation, and international agreements, as well as a substantial index.
Fiction Core Collection (EBSCO)(H.W. Wilson)(XML)Fiction Core Collection features classic and contemporary works and provides titles for a general adult audience. The best authors and their most widely-read works in literary and popular fiction old and new are listed.
World Education EncyclopediaCountry-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.
Below is a selection of general reference sources. If the title is blue, you can click on the link to view the item online. Some items require a UMD Directory ID to access. Otherwise, go to the holding library to use a paper copy.
Current Issues and Trends in Special Education by Festus E. Obiakor (Editor); Jeffrey P. Bakken (Editor); Anthony F. Rotatori (Editor)"This is the second of two themed volumes addressing current issues and trends in special education. Volume 20 covers research, technology, and teacher preparation whilst volume 19 covered identification, assessment and instruction. The field of special education constantly changes as a result of legislation, new instructional formats and current research investigations. It can be difficult for general and special educators, school counselors and psychologists, administrators and practicing clinicians to keep up with these changes and be current in all areas relating to special education. The special education literature knowledge base should reflect these changes; however, there is no current resource that effectively and comprehensively does this. The purpose of "Current Issues and Trends in Special Education" is to fill this void, providing chapters written by active researchers and practitioners in their respective areas.
Publication Date: 2010-02-05
Deconstructing Special Education and Constructing Inclusion by Gary Thomas; Andrew LoxleyReviews of the first edition: "...full of sparkling analysis ... an absorbing account of how and why the practice of special education has failed to live up to expectations ... a tour de force ... A challenging, badly needed book likely to be read for many years to come." Dr Caroline Roaf, British Journal of Educational Studies "... a sophisticated, multidisciplinary critique of special education that leaves virtually no intellectual stone unturned. It is a must-read for anyone interested in the role and significance of inclusive pedagogy in the new struggle for an inclusive society." Professor Tom Skrtic, University of Kansas, USA "While this is a weighty book, there is real clarity about the key ideas and no doubting their importance ... its challenges to our thinking make it essential reading." Dr Melanie Nind in Times Educational Supplement "...a striking ... thought-provoking yet lyrical account which is both uncompromising in its stance and refreshing in its intellectually sophisticated critique." Professor Phil Garner in British Journal of Special Education Review of the second edition: "Having read this book with much pleasure when it first came out in 2001, I am delighted to see its authors rewarded with the accolade of a second edition. Indeed it has been an equally agreeable experience to revisit it, and interesting too, since there have been some significant shifts in thinking in the intervening years. As Thomas and Loxley rightly infer, a second edition supports their contention that there is indeed 'an appetite among professionals in education for ideas, argument and scholarship'. This book provides plenty of all three." Support for Learning · Volume 23 · Number 2 · 2008 In the second edition of this best-selling text, the authors critically examine the intellectual foundations of special education and consider the consequences of their influence for professional and popular thinking about learning difficulties. In light of this critique, they suggest that much of the knowledge about special education is misconceived, and proceed to provide a powerful rationale for inclusion derived from ideas about social justice and human rights. Revised and updated throughout, the book contains new material on social capital, communities of practice and a 'psychology of difference', as well as a new chapter on 'Inclusive education for the twenty-first century'. Deconstructing Special Education and Constructing Inclusion is essential reading for teachers, head teachers, educational psychologists and policy makers.
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor); Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor)The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.
Call Number: LC4007 .E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
Exceptional Children by William L. HewardExceptional Children: An Introduction to Special Education has always been known for its innovation, strong research base and accessibility. The tenth edition has all of those strengths, but has a greater focus on highly effective, research-based practices that are described in a very step-by-step, applied manner. Heward presents an informative and responsible introduction to the professional practices, trends, and research that define contemporary special education while also conveying the diversity and excitement of this changing field. The book is for those teachers who will be professionals in the area of special education or those who are working with students that have exceptionalities.
Publication Date: 2012-02-02
Foundations of Special Education by James L. Paul; Michael W. Churton; Kofi Marfo; William Morse; Hilda Rosselli-Kostoryz; Daphne ThomasThis volume was written to address the reality that the foundational knowledge most influencing public policy and practice in special education has been drawn from a research base driven by empirical evidence that ignores a broader base of humanistic, ethical, and cultural knowledge. This volume brings together many of the most respected thinkers representing the social and neurosciences as well as the humanities who examine the contributions of these respective fields to special educations knowledge base. These chapters encourage readers to reexamine the fields primary assumptions, belief systems, and knowledge bases in light of the complex challenges now facing contemporary American society and its education of students with disabilities.
History of Special Education by Anthony F. Rotatori (Editor, Series edited by); Festus E. Obiakor (Editor); Jeffrey P. Bakken (Editor)This volume will examine the history of special education by categorical areas (e.g., Learning Disabilities, Mental Retardation, and Autistic Spectrum Disorders). Each categorical area chapter will include an examination of: changing definitions, early pioneers in the field, major contributors and their theoretical ideas, changing educational and treatment practices, working with families, the use of technology, assessment practices and legislative acts specific to that categorical area. The volume will also include chapters on the changing philosophy related to educating students with exceptionalities as well as a detailed history of legal and legislation content concerned with special education. The volume will provide readers with a unique perspective on why special education is what it is today.
Publication Date: 2011-01-25
The Practical Guide to Special Educational Needs in Inclusive Primary Classrooms by Richard Rose; Marie Howley`A well-written and thought-provoking book for teachers. It offers many ideas to improve inclusive practice in primary schools, to the benefit of all pupils, not only those with additional or different learning needs′ - Special magazine Written for newly-qualified teachers and students approaching the end of their training courses, this practical and accessible text is an introduction to working with children of a range of abilities in inclusive primary classrooms. The book draws on recent research and innovation in the education of pupils with special educational needs to provide practical examples and advice on how to meet the challenges of developing effective teaching and learning in inclusive settings. Chapters cover: " becoming an inclusive teacher " pupils giving cause for concern " teaching and learning styles " creating inclusive classroom environments and teaching teams " learning from pupils " looking beyond school " developing further as a professional With advice on building positive attitudes, developing specific teaching strategies and adapting a personalising teaching approaches, the book helps teachers to build upon their earlier training in both practical and reflective ways. Richard Rose is Professor of Special and Inclusive Education and Director of the Centre for Special Needs Education and Research at University College Northampton. Marie Howley is senior lecturer in the Centre for Special Needs Education and Research at University College Northampton, teaching on both undergraduate and post graduate courses and in continuing professional development for teachers.
Publication Date: 2007-01-19
The Praeger Handbook of Special Education by Alberto BursztynThe Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of research findings on a selected topic, critiques the research literature in terms of its conceptual and methodological rigor, and sets forth an agenda for future research intended to advance knowledge on the chosen topic.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Rethinking Professional Issues in Special Education by James L. PaulSpecial educators are facing new challenges at the beginning of the 21st century as public education is being reformed by a vision focusing on measurable student outcomes. The future course of the field will be shaped by the policy and programmatic responses to several issues, including demographic changes in student populations, a lack of certified special education teachers, criticism in the public media for the rising costs of services, and debates about the preferred philosophy of service delivery for students with disabilities. Additional chapters discuss university-school collaboration, charter schools, disability studies, school violence, disproportionality in placement, male African-American teachers, and ethics.
Call Number: LC4019.8 .R48 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The SAGE Handbook of Special Education by Lani Florian (Editor)′[T]his book provides an excellent overview of special education, which will be a valuable resource for teachers, school managers and administrators, parents and indeed anyone with an interest in the development of provision for pupils with special educational needs. It is also likely to be an invaluable source book for researchers and postgraduate students alike′ - REACH ′The Handbook offers a range of views on how to empower all learners to transcend their current performance and go "beyond the limits"′ - Journal of Cognitive Education and Psychology `This text makes an important contribution to special education. Perhaps, more significantly, it makes an important contribution to inclusive education, and possibly, even more widely, to education in general...it is a book that has significance for all of us who wish to move education towards a more equitable, democratic, humane, and dignified system for our young people′ - Education in the North In recent years there has been increasingly vigorous debate about the nature and purpose of special education, and what might be considered the appropriate responses to pupils who experience difficulties in learning. This Handbook brings together the most up to date knowledge of this area and will serve as the major source book of authoritative information and ideas about current and future directions for special education. It examines the intricate relation between theory, research and practice, and places a particular emphasis on what has been learned about providing for students who experience difficulties in learning, how these understandings can contribute to new conceptualisations of special education and the development of more inclusive schools. This comprehensive, research-based work, brings together scholarship on an international level, and covers topics that transcend national boundaries. It will become essential reading for all professionals and academics with any interest in this important and dynamic field.
Publication Date: 2006-12-04
The Special Education Almanac by Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor); Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor)The Special Education Almanac has everything a professional needs to know to practice more efficiently and effectively. Filled with information about special education law, ethics, assessment, and educational strategies, this one-of-a-kind resource also includes referrals, sources for test publishers, special education organizations, and government agencies; descriptions of medications and syndromes and more. A must for people who work in this dynamic field. Includes proven practice tools and critical data helpful to anyone working in special education. Authors are recognized experts in the field of special education. A resource that connects readers to other resources on everything from testing and report writing to educational and internship opportunities.
Publication Date: 2005-10-20
The Special Education Handbook by Michael Farrell'What a terrific resource: comprehensive and current, this Handbook is a vital acquisition for all involved in special education programs. Dr Farrell writes clearly and with a practical flair ... Highly recommended.'nbsp;- Michael Arthur-Kelly PhD, Associate Professor and Director, Special Education Centre, University of Newcastle, Australia This acclaimed, bestselling and comprehensive guide, now in a fully updated fourth edition, is an essential reference book for anyone involved with special education. All entries have been reviewed to reflect current practice and the book is enriched with extra resources, including references to useful Internet sites. Focusing on current educational frameworks in the United Kingdom and the United States of America, the author has gathered into one A to Z volume a wide range of information essential to good practice in mainstream and special schools. A thematic index helps the reader plot a course through topics of interest. The broad themes and areas covered are: basic terms, ideas and values venues relating to special education, and school organisation roles and responsibilities individual differences among learners with disabilities and disorders curriculum and assessment, resources and technology pedagogy and classroom organisation therapy and care. Presented in a handy quick reference format The Special Education Handbook also provides a coherent account of the complexities of special education, combining a wealth of practical guidance with the latest research findings. This clear and concise Handbook is indispensable for all those involved in special education, including teachers, teaching assistants, parents, administrators and others.