Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Education

Writing a paper? Looking for books or articles? Need help citing your sources? This guide can help!

Database and Journal Finder - Special Education

Why Use Databases?

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. All databases that UMD Libraries subscribe to can be accessed through Database Finder.

Library Databases vs Search Engines

Click on the video below to watch a tutorial on the differences between a subscription-based library database and a free search engine. It explains when and how to use each. 

 

What if there is no full-text for the item I want? Try:

You can also search multiple databases at once!

EBSCOhost and ProQuest are platforms that house approximately 60 to 75 databases. In order to get the best search results you should select the databases you need (i.e. if your subject is "education" you would limit your search to education databases) . To do this go to the top of the database homepage and look for the terms All databases, Change databases, or Choose databases. See examples below.

For ProQuest:

 

For EBSCOhost:

 

What if there is no full text?

Don't panic!  You have a few options:

Education in the News

Newspapers serve as important primary sources, providing opinions, summaries, and details regarding changes in education and education policy. UMD provides students with access to a number of newspaper archives that cover topics including No Child Left Behind, bilingual education, disability services in schools, integration/bussing, TESOL in the US and abroad, and many more.

How to Search Only News Sources with NexisUni

NexisUni is a fantastic research tool that lets you search a huge body of documents including news, legislation, and many other materials dealing with legal processes. If you are specifically searching for news sources, you have the option to filter NexisUni's results by type of document. You do this by visiting NexisUni, and selecting the News option before you search.

To the right is a guide to selecting source type
when you search on 
NexisUni, and you can find
many more tutorials 
here:

 

Tools to Aggregate and Compare Viewpoints

Historical Newspaper Archives

Find all pre-1990 newspapers accessible through UMD's Database Finder right here.

Modern Newspapers (current coverage and recent history archives)

Find all newspapers from 1990 forward accessible through UMD's Database Finder right here.

Education and the Law

Education research often involves legal and governmental documents, including Supreme Court cases like Brown v. Board of Education, educational policy decisions like No Child Left Behind, congressional debates over public school curricula, and more. UMD students are provided access to many databases that house legislation, court rulings, and other governmental documents.

For a handy overview of how to do legal research, please see the Legal Research guide provided by Celina McDonald, subject specialist in Law for the UMD libraries.

 

Further Resources

Video Resources for Education

Some databases provide access to film or other media rather than articles. The videos in the databases listed below include documentaries on education, primary sources (film taken in a classroom setting), and more.

Sources on Middle/High School Education

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases.

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine.  Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. The UMD Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!!  The ones listed on this page are excellent for middle and high school resources.

Special Education Databases and Journals

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals.

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine.  Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases. Remember also that with EBSCOhost and ProQuest, you can choose from a list of databases and search all of them at once.

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles.

The UM Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!!  The ones listed here are most useful education databases where you'll be able to find information on your topics. See the Supplemental Databases tab for a fuller list of related subject databases.

Database Finder and Journal Finder are your portals to research databases and electronic journals.

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine.  Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available subject databases. Remember also that with EBSCOhost and ProQuest, you can choose from a list of databases and search all of them at onceSome databases focused on other social science subjects will still have information relevant to education, e.g. a criminal justice database may have valuable articles on the school to prison pipeline. 

Citation Finder is an additional resource to help find specific articles.

The UMD Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!!  The ones listed here are additional great resources.

Resources for Science/Math Teachers

Open Access Journals

In contrast to the databases and journals that the UMD libraries subscribe to, there are many academic journals who offer the full text of all or some articles for free. This pages has a few key open access journals in the field of Special Education. For a more comprehensive directory of open access journals visit the Directory of Open Access Journals, which provides free, full text and scholarly journals.