HIST419T (Cooperman): Medieval Readings in Hebrew: Biblical Exegesis

The Encyclopedia of Midrash Biblical Interpretation in Formative Judaism, provides a systematic account of biblical interpretation in Judaism, from well before the second century BCE through the end of the seventh century CE. While emphasizing the Rabbinic literature, it also covers interpretation of Scripture in a number of distinct canons, ranging from the Targumic literature and Dead Sea Scrolls to the New Testament and Church Fathers. The encyclopedia comprises fifty-six essays written by thirty scholars, representing the leading figures in the study of ancient Judaism and biblical interpretation in North America, Europe, and the State of Israel.Alongside a general introduction to Rabbinic Midrash and its traits, including the theoretical questions of definition, origins, theology, hermeneutics, genre-criticism, and language, the encyclopedia addresses specific topics of concern in the study of scriptural interpretation. How Rabbinic midrashic documents that focus on specific books of Scripture read those specific books, the theology expressed by Rabbinic midrashic compilations, and the historical context in which Rabbinic Midrash took shape all are treated. Beyond these central issues in understanding Rabbinic Midrash, the encyclopedia treats interpretations of Scripture that came to closure prior to, or outside of, the framework of Rabbinic Midrash: Hellenistic Jewish Midrash, Josephus, Pseudo-Philo, Jubilees, as well as to the New Testament, Karaite and Samaritan writings, and the Dead Sea Scrolls.The Encyclopedia of Midrash provides readers with a depth and breadth of treatment of Midrash unavailable in any other single source. Through the writings of top scholars in each of their fields, it sets out the current state of the question for each of the many topics discussed in its pages.

Kerekh 1. Av-atarim.--Kerekh 2. B-Zetar.--Kerekh 3. Ḥovav-Yetet.--Kerekh 4. Kaved-meltaḥah.--Kerekh 5. Memukhan-Sitri.--Kerekh 6. ʻEved-Tsaretan.--Kerekh 7. Ḳaʼat-shelishiyah.--Kerekh 8. Shem-Tatni.--Kerekh 9. Meafteḥot.
‫ 1. אב־אתרים ־־ 2. ב׳־זתר ־־ 3. חבב־יתת ־־ 4. כבד־מלתחה ־־ 5. ממוכן־סתרי ־־ 6. עבד־צרתן ־־ 7. קאת־שלשיה ־־ 8. שם־תתני ־־ 9. מפתחות.

When it first appeared in 1972, this 16-volume, large-format encyclopedia was generally considered a marvel of modern scholarship and quicly became the standard reference work in many aspects of Jewish Studies. The book was supplemented by a series of supplements that contain important articles not just on events post 1972 but also on themes that were missed in the first edition. It is also available on CD-Rom.
This was built upon an earlier German-language project left incomplete. You can get a good sense of the state of Jewish Studies after World War II and the rise of the State of Israel by comparing this to the Jewish Encyclopedia completed in 1906 and mentioned above (cf. Wikipedia).
There are copies in McKeldin Library in the reference and folio stacks[Folio DS102.8 .E5] and a very useful searchable copy on CD Rom that you can get from the Reference desk.

This multi-volume work completed after forty years of work in 1983 is the standard Hebrew-language reference work to both general and Jewish-Studies topics. It is presently being revised.

A later edition is available at McKeldin Library Stacks DS102.8 .J65 1925