Research Guides: HIST419T (Cooperman): Medieval Readings in Hebrew: Biblical Exegesis: Web Resources

Evaluating web resources

It is extemely important to understand the nature of information obtain from the web for the quality and integrity of your research.

Evaluating Resources
Necessary guidelines used to determine the quality and accuracy of the information found online and in print.

Selected web resources

Hebrewbooks.org
Hebrewbooks.org was founded in order to preserve old Hebrew books that are out of print and or circulation. At Hebrewbooks.org you will be able to view and print the entire Sefer online.
JTS Digital Collections
Several digitized collections, some partcially. Includes "News About Jews," a collection of Early American Jewish newspapers; "Judaica Americana," a collection of pamphlets going back to 1725; "Ketubbot Collection"; "Rare Prints," Biblical print collection and portraiture print collection; and JTS Library exhibits.
Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text & Image
SCETI was developed at the University of Pennsylvania to provide the scholarly community with web access to virtual facsimiles of original texts, documents, and sources from Penn's collections. Judaica projects include Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Music Archive and manuscripts from the Lawrence C. Schoenberg Collection.
The Collection "Yiddish Prints"
This collection contains about 800 very valuable Yiddish books that belong to the Frankfurt University Library. The texts were printed in Hebrew letters in West, Central and East Europe. The dates range from the middle of the 16th century to the beginning of the 20th century. The collection contains the whole spectrum of yiddish books, women's bibles in yiddish translation, liturgy, practical guide books, works on religious customs, legends, chronicles and classical Jewish fiction.
The Sephardi Studies Project
The purpose of this Digitized Ladino Library is to place on the Internet a corpus of Ladino printed books, or even a few manuscripts, for easy access by scholars as well as students of Ladino throughout the world. A project of Taube Center for Jewish Studies in conjunction with the Mediterranean Studies Forum, both at Stanford University.
Academic guide to Jewish history
A collection of online and print resources useful to the study of Jewish History
JConnect
JConnect is a community service of The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington. It provides information in the areas of health, welfare, culture, education, recreation, religious practices, communal affairs and urgent human welfare needs. Very strong local content.
Princeton University Library Jewish Studies Resources
A nice collection of useful links for academic needs.

Transliteration of Hebrew and Yiddish Texts

Transliteration is the practice of converting a text from one writing system into another in a systematic way. You will find how to transcribe Hebrew letters into English in Hebrew and Yiddish Transliteration Table. This table will prompt a pdf download of scanned text from the 1997 edition of the "ALA-LC Romanization Tables: Transliteration Schemes for Non-Roman Scripts," approved by the Library of Congress and the American Library Association. For more languages, see the complete table in the Transliteration Box.

Tranliteration

Transliteration is the practice of converting text from one writing system into another in a systematic way. The Transliteration Table below provides writing systems that use non-Roman characters with the analogous Roman characters for easy translation. For additional information, you may consult the Library of Congress "ALA-LC Romanization Tables: Transliteration Schemes for Non-Roman Scripts," page. The page is approved by the American Library Association.

Amharic (2011)	Arabic (2012)	Armenian (2011)
Assamese (2012)	Azerbaijani (2011)	Balinese (2012)
Batak (2012)	Belarusian (2012)	Bengali (2012)
Bulgarian (2013)	Burmese (2011)	Cham (2015)
Cherokee (2012)	Chinese (2011)	Church Slavic (2011 rev)
Coptic (2014)	Divehi (2012)	Georgian (2011)
Greek (2010)	Gujarati (2011)	Hebrew and Yiddish (2011)
Hindi (2011)	Inuktitut (2011)	Japanese (2012)
Javanese, Sundanese, and Madurese (2011)	Jawi-Pegon (2012)	Judeo-Arabic (2011)
Kannada (2011)	Kashmiri (2012)	Kazakh (2012)
Khmer (2012 rev)	Korean (2009)	Kurdish (2012)
Ladino (2011)	Lao (2012)	Lepcha (2012 rev)
Limbu (2011)	Macedonian (2013)	Malayalam (2012)
Manchu (2012)	Mande languages (in N'ko script) (2015)	Marathi (2011)
Mongolian	Moplah (2012)	Moroccan Tamazight (2012)
Non-Slavic Languages (in Cyrillic Script) (2012)	Oriya (2011)	Ottoman Turkish (2011)
Pali (2012)	Panjabi (2011)	Persian (2012)
Pushto (2013)	Romanian (in Cyrillic) (2014)	Russian (2012)
Rusyn, Carpatho-Rusyn (2013)	Sanskrit and Prakrit (2012)	Santali (2012)
Serbian (2013)	Shan (2012)	Sindhi (2013)
Sinhalese (2011)	Syriac (2012)	Tamashek (2013)
Tamil (2011)	Telugu (2011)	Thai (2011)
Tibetan (2015)	Tigrinya (2011)	Tod-Oirat-Old Kalmyk (2012
Uighur (2015)	Ukrainian (2011)	Urdu (2013)
	Vai (2011 rev)

"ALA-LC Romanization Tables." Tools and Documentation. Library of Congress.