Literary and Cultural Studies

Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. All aspects of historical research. Time span: 1964-present.

Provides full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media
and other closely-related fields. Combines the resources formerly known as
CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCAs six journals, and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. EBSCO has combined and expanded the extensive coverage of these two resources to create CMMC.

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Indexes articles in film and television periodicals and selected articles from related periodicals. Useful for finding critical articles on film study as well as movie reviews.

Full text database comprised of 175 titles, primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports. Subject areas covered include: government, history and politics, lesbian and gay studies, women's studies, and other humanities and social sciences disciplines. Dates of coverage of some publications are 1970 to the present.

Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories. HINT: Go to Settings In the Library Links tab, search for University of Maryland Libraries and put a check mark in the University of Maryland Find@UMD button. Click Save button at the bottom right of the page. Now when you find an article in Google Scholar use the Find@UMD link to retrieve the full-text of the article.

Information on articles, books, and dissertations about non-U.S. and non-Canadian history from 1450 to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals in 50 languages.

Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

Database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.

Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean. Indexing 1902 to present, full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals 1998 to present. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary - spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline.

The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is one of three databases that is bundled together in the Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies database. The Library subscribes only to the IMB, which includes information about articles, conference proceedings, and Festschriften on all aspects of medieval studies in the period of 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Index to journal articles, books, articles in collections, and conference papers on multiple aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization. Publications in European and other languages on multiple aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity, including literature and linguistics, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, and science, from the second millennium B.C.E. to the early Middle Ages (ca. 500-800 C.E.). Indexing from 1924-2015

Information from GLBT-specific core and related periodicals.

Indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and book reviews on linguistics and its sub-disciplines. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) provides access to hundreds of scholarly journals. Coverage includes U.S. and international scholarly journal literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences disciplines with date coverage ranging from 1802 to 2000.

Covers issues in women's studies including feminist theory and history, family, mental & physical health, gender discrimination, law & legislation, employment etc.