This guide will help you locate resources for the study of English and American literature. The emphasis is on material available in the University of Maryland Libraries, but some Internet sources are also included.
TheMLA Directory of Periodicalsprovides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
Scholars and students seeking to submit their work for publicationuse the Directory of Periodicals to identify the journals and series most likely to consider their work. The directory includes essential information such as topics covered, editorial policies, contact information, and submission guidelines. As they explore new areas of interest, researchers can uncover relevant publications by subject searching in the directory.
Literary Criticism Databases
To find book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles of literary criticism on your author or work, consult the following database.
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. ABELL is a subset of the Literature Online database and contains records, from 1892 through to today with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material.
HINT: Once in the Literature Online database, click on "Criticism: Scholarly articles, reviews, books, dissertations", and then select ABELL.
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Also, covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories. Search for an important book or article about your research topic in Google Scholar and use the "Cited by" and "Related articles" to locate additional related sources. HINT: Click on the Settings Icon then click on Library Links and search for University of Maryland Libraries and put a check mark in the University of Maryland Find@UMD button. Click Save button at the bottom right of the page. Now when you find an article in Google Scholar use the Find@UMD link to retrieve the full-text of the article.
Electronic version of 12 titles in Gale's popular Literature Criticism reference series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism.
Provides abstracts and indexing of books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare