Research Guides: Children's Literature: Statistics

Statistics

Searching for Maryland Statistics? Start here!

Please visit Maryland Statistics for more information.

The Fact Book: A statistical handbook to Maryland K-12 education.

2017 Maryland Report Card: This website includes data for the state, local school systems, and by schools. It includes Maryland School Assessment results.

Maryland State Dept. of Education: Useful information from the Maryland State Dept. of Education.

2016 Data Book: Provides statistics on colleges and universities in Maryland. Enrollment, retention, graduation, degrees, faculty, expenditures, tuition, and financial aid are among the statistics included.

Maryland Higher Education Commission: The Web site of the Maryland Higher Education Commission Office of Policy Analysis and Research provides links to the Data Book and Trend Book and to many other research reports done by the Commission.

Institutional Research Planning & Assessment: The source for detailed University of Maryland College Park statistics.

University System of Maryland Reports/Statistics: This Web site provides links to statistics and reports relating to the institutions in the University System of Maryland.

University Archives: Provides information and links to University of Maryland Libraries University Archives.

Here are some resources for other statistical resources:

**Credit for this information should be given to Temple University's Library Guide entitled "Resources for Education research.

The UM Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!! The ones listed here are most useful databases to help you locate statistics on education (all statistics databases can be found here). The databases that UMCP subscribes to can be accessed through Database Finder.

Child Trends Databank
Continuously updated trend data with the latest national estimates for over 100 key indicators of child and youth well-being from Federal reports, Web sites, and data sets.
Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.
Data.Gov
"The home of the U.S. Government's open data." Provides data, tools and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile apps and design data visualizations and much more.
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health
National, state, and regional survey data for child and adolescent health.
GeoRef
Guide to materials in geology and earth sciences. Worldwide coverage. Abstracts journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.Over 25,145 sources. Over 2.1 million records. Over 60,000 records added annually. Geology and the Earth Sciences. Major subjects include: crystallography, hydrogeology, economic geology, hydrology and water resources, environmental geology, marine geology, engineering geology, mineralogy, geochemistry, oceanography, geophysics, and paleontology. From 1785 to the present for North American geologyFrom 1933 to the present for international geo.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States has long been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. Includes statistics from over 1000 sources.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data and cover topics from sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime,minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations. More information about accessing data in ICPSR can be found here: https://www.lib.umd.edu/data/icpsr.
Nationmaster.com
This free site compiles data from prominent international statistics sources like the CIA, UN and others and presents them graphically to allow easy comparisons of countries.
Policy Map
Policy Map provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime mortgages, health, jobs, demographics, and education from more than 150 authoritative public and proprietary sources \. Data is cleaned and standardized , and updated regularly. the database basic GIS tools to create reports and maps.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including demographic, historic census, business, health, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, and marketing (over 70,000 variables total). Users can create customized maps and reports; data is down to the census tract level. Click on "Sign in as a guest" to use database. data is available at the State, County, City, ZIP Code, Census Tract and Block Group level as well as custom trade area and the entire United States. Access limited to 5 concurrent users.
World Bank Data Catalog
Access to World Bank datasets, databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. Includes: Africa Development Indicators, Doing Business, Global Development Finance, World Development Indicators and much more.
World Development Indicators Online
World Bank database provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII.

Data.Census.Gov
Social Explorer
"This interactive website includes the entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project. Overall, the site contains 39 billion data points, 200,000 variables, and 15,000 interactive maps."
more...less...
"Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices."