What is UMD Discover?
UMD Discover is a discovery tool that searches libraries worldwide and multiple high-quality sources all at one time and in one place.
Click here to use UMD Discover: UMD Discover
UMD Discover is also accessible via the library's homepage.
Why use UMD Discover?
UMD Discover has been optimized for discovery. This means that even if you are not an expert you are likely to come across something useful for your research. Even if you are an expert, you may come across new resources that you wouldn't have found otherwise.
Here are some examples of what you can find in UMD Discover:
- Articles
- Journal titles
- DVDs
- Government Documents
|
- Historical Manuscripts
- Print Books
- E-Books
- Sound Recordings
|
- Dissertations
- Music Scores
- Internet Resources
- etc.
|
What resources are not included in UMD Discover?
- Some of the 300+ databases in Database Finder are ONLY available through Database Finder directly.
- Some of the UMD Special Collections
- Most unprocessed gifts and "on order" materials
- Course reserve materials
New to UMD Discover?
Just type in one or two keywords. UMD Discover will give you a Google-like experience.
The videos are also available in the UMD Discover LibGuide: https://lib.guides.umd.edu/umd-discover/helpvideos
- What's in UMD Discover?: UMD Discover is UMD Libraries' new tool for discovering print and digital resources in collections from the University of Maryland, the University System of Maryland, and beyond. In this video, you will learn how to access UMD Discover and what tools are available to help you search UMD Discover.
- Using Your Account: UMD Discover is UMD Libraries' new tool for discovering print and digital resources in collections from the University of Maryland, the University System of Maryland, and beyond. In this video, you will learn about the "My Account" tabs and functions, how to manage saved and favorite searches, view borrowed materials, and manage library fines.
- Searching for Articles in UMD Discover: UMD Discover is UMD Libraries' new tool for discovering print and digital resources in collections from the University of Maryland, the University System of Maryland, and beyond. In this video, you will learn how to filter and refine your search results, how to access academic articles, and how to save searches to your account.
- Searching for Books in UMD Discover: UMD Discover is UMD Libraries' new tool for discovering print and digital resources in collections from the University of Maryland, the University System of Maryland, and beyond. In this video, you will learn how to search for and request books in UMD Discover.
Advanced searcher?
Explore the Advanced Search page, from the Advanced Search page click on 'Add / Remove Databases'.
For full details on using UMD Discover, please visit the Library's Research Guide to Discovery Tools.
