Research Guides: Research Poster Guide for CCJS418U: Community Corrections: Lit Review

Tips and Tricks

Remember that less is more--don't try to make your poster too busy.
Search "full text" or keyword.
Use Google Scholar and research databases--see below.
Do a multi-disciplinary search; don't limit yourself to only searching one discipline.
Utilize citation chaining--if you find a good resource, find the citations for that resource, and check those out as well.
Look into citation management software, such as Zotero.

Click on the links below for tutorials on how to do basic and advanced searches.

Basic Search
Shows how to do a basic keyword search and how to refine the search results. Covers the ranking of search results, the relevancy sort order and more
Advanced Searching
How to use the Advanced Search screen. Includes command line searching, Boolean operators, wildcards, truncation and more.

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories.
Nexis Uni
Full-text database that covers news, political, legal, and business
SocIndex with Full Text
Comprehensive sociology research database
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
A bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on journals published throughout the world.

Citation Management Tools
by Nedelina Tchangalova Last Updated Jul 7, 2024 2959 views this year
Citation Guide
by Steve Henry Last Updated Jan 24, 2023 928 views this year