Controversial Monuments

Within the United States, there are rising debates on what is to be done with historical monuments with controversial meaning. For some, the historical context of these objects are representative of harmful ideologies which should not be revered and need to be removed. For others, the removal of these statues means an erasure of history and should be kept as a reminder of the past, no matter how dark. With such a heated topic, there are will always be those that gather on either side. No matter where one falls, it is important to educate themselves using materials which explore where these points of tension derive from

This section focuses on resources to help better understand the arguments brought forth with removing monuments across the United States from both an educational perspective.

(Image Description: Protesters at the statue of Confederate General, Robert E. Lee, in Richmond, Va, Sept. 16, 2017.)

The Associated Press

There are many organizations which seek to educate the public and provide a platform for learning the various sides of debated topics such as statue removal. While some groups focus on many problematic areas, others solely focus on monuments, particularly in the context of history. 

• Facing History and Ourselves
  • This educational platform provides tools for educators to teach about the uncomfortable areas of history. Provided are several articles and lesson plans for students to think of the roles monuments play in everyday life.
• Learning for Justice
  • This is a project created by the Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) to provide resources to educators and the public to enhance diversity and fight against white supremacy. This project operates in the specific sectors of instruction, leadership, culture and community engagement. Their guide Teaching The Truth About Confederate History focuses on resources which help students to dismantle common misconceptions about the Civil War. 
• Monument Labs
  • This nonprofit history and public art studio focuses on creating discussions around the topic of monuments, whether from past installations or upcoming works. They seek to use this dialogue to not only better understand the objects themselves, but the variety of perspectives from the public. 
• The Zinn Education Project
  • This is an educational platform focused on providing teaching materials which reflect a more diverse and critical perspective on history. This includes information about controversial monuments as featured in the article, "How to Teach the Truth When Lies Line Our Public Streets and Parks".

​​​​​​This collection of databases not only relate to monuments but also the historical contexts in which they result from. Through these databases, one can find a multitude of primary and secondary sources. 

• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA):
  • This database provides access to a wide range of digital collections, including photographs, documents, and articles related to monuments and their controversies.
• HeinOnline Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
  • This database collects legal records related to slavery in the United States and other English-speaking nations. It provides an insight to the historical debates on slavery as well as context for many monuments and those they represent. 
• Library of Congress Collections
  • This database has a vast collection of primary and secondary sources related to American history and culture, including public monuments.
• Making of America
  • This database focuses on American history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. 
• National Park Service (NPS) - Cultural Resources Geographic Information System (CRGIS):
  • This database uses interactive maps to highlight cultural resources including monuments and memorials.
• National Register of Historic Places
  • This database created by the National Park Services lists historical public artifacts including buildings and monuments. This information includes what places are currently registered and how one could register their own property. 
• Smithsonian Institution - Collections Search Center
  • This database holds extensive collections about historical artifacts and documents, including controversial monuments and their surrounding histories.