Most databases, reference works, and e-journals are restricted to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Maryland.
In order to access databases and online journals remotely, use Database Finder. When prompted to select a campus, select the option for University of Maryland, College Park and then "Students, Faculty, and Staff". Then log in with your Directory ID, the same username you use for email and other campus services.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection - A collection of issues-based documentary films from leading film producers and distributors including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Films, Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, Scorpion TV and other independent filmmakers. Disciplines supported by this collection include environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, and arts.
Environmental Studies in Video - 500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, sociology, planning and environmental science. Films were produced from 1970 to the present, and address specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
Filmakers Library Online - a multidisciplinary collection of well-known documentaries already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. The coverage is topical, contemporary, and cross-disciplinary, specializing in studies of race and gender, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, and the environment. The collection includes bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Additionally, titles in Filmmakers Library Online present international points of view of both historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Films@UM - consists of over 800 digital videos on a wide variety of subjects, which can be used in the classroom or independently. These films are available to University of Maryland (College Park) students, faculty, and staff for viewing, either from one's computer or classroom on campus or at home via a virtual private network (VPN).
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection - Streaming video service of almost 26,000 full-length videos of high-quality educational titles. Subject sets featured include: business & economics, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, health & medicine. This collection also includes thousands of video segments and a collection of archival films & newsreels. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark segments, create and share playlists. Most videos available with closed-captioning and interactive transcripts and may be viewed through most mobile devices.
