Research Guides: PLCY 300: Governance: Collective Action in the Public Interest: Core Databases

Core Databases

Be sure to keep track of the database/s you use and the search strategies.

Everyone should use the Academic Search Ultimate database (an Ebsco database) and depending on your topic focus, and if you need additional documents, add additional databases. To add additional databases, once in Academic Search Ultimate, click on - choose databases to add the rest. See the tab - Searching Multiple Databases
Business:
Business Source Complete
EconLit
Regional Business News

Communication / Media
Communication and Mass Media COmplete

Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice Abstracts

Education:
Education Source

Family:
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Family Studies Abstracts

Health
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
MEDLINE

LGBTQ
LGBTQ+ Source

Political
International Political Science Abstracts

Psychology / Social
PsycINFO
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
SocINDEX with Full Text
Urban Studies Abstracts

Women:
Women Studies International

eBooks
Ebsco eBook Academic Comprehensive Collection
Ebsco eBook Collection

There are additional databases from Proquest. Once in one, click on - Change Databases - and add the other. See the tab - Searching Multiple databases.
PAIS
Ethnic Newswatch
GenderWatch
Proquest EBook Central
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
PAIS Index
From 1915 - Covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Includes the policy oriented literature such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health and science and technology.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Too many results?
Limit by Source Type: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, Academic Journals, Trade Publications...
Limit by Date

Ebsco limit scholarly peer review journals

Limit Search Field from Select a Field to AB ABstract

Ebsco change search field to AB Abstract

Try the search in a variety of ways.

Start with Anywhere, change to either Abstract - AB or Anywhere except full text - NOFT
Limit date / document type

PAIS Change search field from Anywhere to Anywhere except full text

Google
limit by document type:
site:gov = documents produced/authored by the government at all levels (federal,state,local) and government-sponsored research
site:org = organizations / associations / think tanks
site:edu = documents produced/ authored/ sponsored by educational entities

"asylum seeker*" process issues "united states" site:gov

"asylum seeker*" process issues "united states" site:org

racism "maternal health" site:org

Use quotes and truncation