The Library of Congress - Recorded Sound Research Center - The Recorded Sound Research Center provides access to the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress. The collection dates from 1926 when Victor Records donated over 400 discs to the Library's Music Division to supplement its print and manuscript holdings. In the custody of the Motion Picture Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division since 1978, the collection has grown to include over 2 million items encompassing audio formats from cylinders to CDs. Recorded Sound Research Center (Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division
Marr Sound Archives - includes over 380,000 items, with a focus on the American experience as reflected in recorded sound. The collection features a wide variety of music genres including jazz, blues, soul, country, popular music, rock & roll, folk, classical and opera. In addition, a large part of the collection contains historic speeches, interviews, and vintage radio programs. The holdings encompass a wide range of audio formats including LPs, 78s, 45s, cylinders, transcription discs, instantaneous-cut discs, open-reel tapes, CDs, and digital audio files. https://library.umkc.edu/marr
Syracuse University Special Collections – includes the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive, one of the largest archives of recorded sound in the USA, holding formats from the earliest experimental recordings on tinfoil to modern digital media. Music recordings at the Belfer include classical, jazz, popular, film, patriotic, novelty, folk, country, ethnic and experimental genres. Spoken word recordings encompass political leaders, poets, philosophers, and famous actors, as well as early radio broadcasts and unreleased discs from major recording companies. Recorded Sound and Music
The American Radio Archives, now located at the University of California, Santa Barbara, is one of the largest collections of radio broadcasting in the world. The American Radio Archives focuses on entertainment programming from the "Golden Age" of radio, up to the1950s.
