Special Collections in Mass Media and Culture, a part of Special Collections and University Archives in Hornbake Library, holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
The Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research (WCFTR) is one of the world’s major archives of research materials relating to the entertainment industry. It maintains over three hundred collections from outstanding playwrights, television and motion picture writers, producers, actors, designers, directors, and production companies. Materials preserved include: historical records and personal papers, twenty thousand motion pictures, television shows, and videotapes; two million still photographs and promotional graphics; and several thousand sound recordings. It is richest in records of the American film industry between 1930 and 1960, American popular theater in the 1940s and 1950s, and American television from the 1940s to the 1970s. http://www.wcftr.commarts.wisc.edu/
The British Film Institute - The BFI is the UK’s lead organization for film, television and the moving image. BFI homepage | BFI
The Indiana University Libraries Moving Image Archive (IULMIA) is one of the world’s largest and most comprehensive academic film collections. The archive contains more than 86,000 titles spanning nearly 80 years of film production, including many rare and last-remaining copies of influential 20th-century films. Its collections are curated, catalogued, and preserved by IU Libraries film specialists, ensuring not only that these films last for generations, but also that they be easily searchable and accessible, providing unlimited educational, cultural, and scholarly opportunities. Indiana University Libraries Moving Image Archive · Indiana University Libraries Moving Image Archive
UCLA Film & Television Archive is renowned for its pioneering efforts to rescue, preserve and showcase moving image media, and is dedicated to ensuring that the collective visual memory of our time is explored and enjoyed for generations to come. Established in 1965, the Archive is the second-largest repository of motion pictures and broadcast programming in the United States, after the Library of Congress, and the world's largest university-held collection. UCLA Film & Television Archive
The George Eastman Museum in Rochester, New York, is on the estate of George Eastman, the pioneer of popular photography and motion picture film. Founded in 1947 as an independent nonprofit institution, it is the world’s oldest photography museum and one of the oldest film archives. The museum holds unparalleled collections—encompassing several million objects—in the fields of photography, cinema, and photographic and cinematographic technology, and photographically illustrated books. The institution is also a longtime leader in film preservation and photographic conservation. George Eastman Museum: Homepage
The Library of Congress Moving Image Research Center - The Library of Congress began collecting motion pictures in 1893 when Thomas Edison and his brilliant assistant W.K.L. Dickson deposited the Edison Kinetoscopic Records for copyright. However, because of the difficulty of safely storing the flammable nitrate film used at the time, the Library retained only the descriptive material relating to motion pictures. In 1942, recognizing the importance of motion pictures and the need to preserve them as a historical record, the Library began the collection of the films themselves; from 1949 on these included films made for television. Today the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division (MBRS) is responsible for the acquisition, cataloging and preservation of the Library's motion picture and television collections.- Moving Image Research Center (Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division
The American Heritage Center at the University of Wyoming is home to over 90,000 cubic feet of historic documents and artifacts, making it one of the largest non-governmental archives in the nation. Collections related to the entertainment industries, from film to comic books, figure prominently in its holdings - American Heritage Center
Margaret Herrick Library (AMPAS) The Margaret Herrick Library is a world-renowned, non-circulating reference and research collection devoted to the history and development of the motion picture as an art form and an industry. Established in 1928 and now located in Beverly Hills, the library is open to the public and used year-round by students, scholars, historians and industry professionals. Margaret Herrick Library
