*Updated link for UMD Discover will be added soon.
60 Minutes: 1997-2014 More Information
Provides online full-episode access to all 60 Minutes broadcasts from 1997-2014, including many episodes not widely not seen since their original broadcast.
American History in Video More Information
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection More Information
Provides online access to more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening. Specialized indexing at the track level for over half of these recordings links individual segments of plays to specific academic disciplines and subject keywords. This allows researchers to find relevant scenes that touch on subjects in the humanities, social sciences, theatre, hard sciences, law, medicine, and virtually every other field of study.
BBC Television Shakespeare Plays More Information
Streamed productions of all 37 Shakespearean plays, originally produced by the British Broadcasting Company. These are traditional interpretations of the plays set in either Shakespeare's time or in the period of the events depicted. These versions have been enhanced for high definition online streaming and are available to view with captioning.
Dance in Video: Volumes I and II More Information
Description:
Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Dance in Video: Volume I lays the foundation for the study of dance in all its forms with content in modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, experimental dance, and more. Films feature many of the greatest dance companies as well as an array of rare and hard-to-find archival and historical material. Dance in Video: Volume II showcases a new catalogue of dancers and partners including the Joffrey Ballet, John Jasperse Company, and Cloud Gate Dance Theatre, as well as instructional materials, interviews, and documentaries featuring key performers and choreographers.
Ethnographic Video Online More Information
Description:
Comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – over 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world, and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. All videos and transcripts have been indexed and are fully searchable and browsable.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection More Information
Description:
A collection of issues-based documentary films from leading film producers and distributors including Bullfrog Films, lcarus Films, the BBC, the National Films, Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, Scorpion TV and other independent filmmakers. Disciplines supported by this collection include environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies and arts.
Coverage:
2019-2020
Filmakers Library Online More Information
Filmakers Library Online is a multidisciplinary collection of well known documentaries already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. The coverage is topical, contemporary, and cross-disciplinary, specializing in studies of race and gender, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, and the environment. The collection includes bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Additionally, titles in Filmakers Library Online present international points of view of both historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection More Information
Streaming video service of almost 26,000 full length videos of high-quality educational titles. Subject sets featured include: business & economics, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, health & medicine. This collection also includes thousands of video segments and a collection of archival films & newsreels. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark segments, create and share playlists. Most videos available with closed-captioning and interactive transcripts and may be viewed through most mobile devices.
LGBT Studies in Video More Information
"This growing collection in LGBT Studies features text and video resources exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. The immense text holdings in this collection include materials ranging from texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and to memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction. The latter category includes winners of the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards. The video holdings include documentaries, interview, and archival films that look at all aspects of the LGBT community: LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. The collection has an international and multidisciplinary focus (inclu. lgbt studies, sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, cultural studies, and religious studies)."
Medici.tv broadcasts over 100 live events a year from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele, and more. Medici.tv also provides access to a large collection of classical music videos, with 1,500 original programs available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year.
Theater in Video Volume I More Information
Streaming video collection of plays and documentaries. Includes "world's most important plays", live television broadcasts of New York productions in the 50s, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, and multiple productions of some plays. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances. Browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields. Features include creating playlists and video clips of specific scenes, monologues, and staging.
Theatre in Video: Volume II More Information
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
Victorian Popular Culture More Information
Digitized visual and rare print primary sources materials in four collections: Spiritualism, Sensation, and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; and Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment, and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the advent of Cinema.
World History in Video More Information
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
