Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Requesting Special Collections Materials at UMD

A guide to help researchers request material from our Archival Collections database, WorldCatUM, and our Classic Catalog.

Important Links

Contact Us

For more information about accessing our collections in-person or remotely.

 

Register for a Special Collections Account

To view materials or place duplication orders from the collection.

 

Schedule an Appointment

To view materials in the reading room.

 

Information About Visiting

Reading room locations, what to expect, and more.

 

Duplication Services

Fees, citations, and other guidelines for requesting copies of special collections materials.

How to Submit a Request to View Material in the Reading Room

How to Request from the Online Catalog (WorldCat & Classic Catalog)
 

  • Locate items you would like to view in WorldCat or the Classic Catalog.
  • Material located in Special Collections and University Archives will have one of the following locations:
    • UMCP HBK Maryland Room
    • UMCP Severn Library Special Collections
    • UMCP Severn Library University Archives
       
  • Click on "Request from Special Collections."
  • Verify that the information is correct and include specific volume, issue and/or date information.
    • Include any additional helpful information in the "Special Requests" field of the form.
       
  • Choose a date for your visit.
    • If you have not already done so, schedule an appointment to visit the reading room before placing your request.
    • All requests to view materials during an appointment must be placed at least 3 business days in advance.
    • Materials located offsite in Severn Library may take up to 4 business days to be made available in the reading room. Items located offsite in Severn Library will be identified in the location field of the catalog record.
       
  • Click “Submit Request”.

How to Request Copies

How to Submit a Duplication Order from the Online Catalog (WorldCat & Classic Catalog)

  • Locate items you would like to view in WorldCat or the Classic Catalog.
     
  • Click on "Request from Special Collections" under "Collection Availability."
     
  • Select "Switch to Duplication Order" at the top.
     
  • Complete duplication order details.
    • Be specific as possible about the materials you would like to have copied.
       
  • Select "Submit Request"