Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Writers and Artists

A guide to black writers in Literature and Rare Books in Special Collections and University Archives.

Welcome to the Special Collections Guide to Black Writers and Artists

This guide features some of the notable works by black writers and artists available in the Literature and Rare Books collections in Special Collections and University Archives .  The works presented in this guide span several different generations and genres.  From art and science to politics and literature, ranging from children’s books by Chinua Achebe to literary masterpieces by writers such as James Baldwin, Special Collections and University Archives is home to a variety of works by black authors and artists.  This research guide also includes the contributions of black people in other parts of the bookmaking process such as illustration, printing, and publishing. Search our online catalog to explore more!

When you explore our collections, you may encounter racist imagery and illustrations within these works. In addition to struggling to publish their works, black authors often had to contend with racism in elements of bookmaking such as illustration and cover design.

Literature and Rare Books collections in Special Collections and University Archives are located in Hornbake Library.  For more information about our holdings contact us!

 

Related Guides