Research Guides: ENST233 Introduction to Environmental Health: Databases

UMD Discover

UMD Discover is UMD Libraries' portal to items in our catalog (books, ebooks, and more) and can be used to access peer-reviewed journal articles. It is a great starting point for this course assignment. You can access it on the library homepage: https://www.lib.umd.edu/.

Greenfile

GreenFile
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Web of Science

Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science

Web of Science Training Materials
Link to Web of Science training guide from Clarivate.

Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.

Library Tutorials: Academic Search Complete/Ultimate (EBSCO products)
Many search and database usage tips for Academic Search Ultimate

CRS Reports

Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.

CRS Reports are produced by the Congressional Research Service, the public policy research arm of Congress and are heavily researched and written by experts in the field on legislative issues. CRS Reports are available fulltext from 1916 to the present.
From the Congressional Research Service homepage:

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.

CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.

CRS services come in many forms:

reports on major policy issues
tailored confidential memoranda, briefings and consultations
seminars and workshops
expert congressional testimony
responses to individual inquiries

Note: there might not be a CRS report for every topic - but do try and see if there is!

Follow these steps:

1. Choose content types to search
Either keep Search All Content Types, or deselect and choose CRS Reports.
(If you keep Search All Content Types, you will have the opportunity to limit document type within results)

2. Keep the search field to: Anywhere except full text

3. Enter Search Terms = keywords. Some examples:
Place quotes around phases

"gun control"
"voting rights"
"mental illness"
"affordable housing"
reparations and "African American*"
"opioid epidemic" or "opioid overdose"
"e cigarette*" or e-cigarette*
michigan water flint

Search Example: "gun control" or "gun policy"
CRS Reports Gun Control Results