Skip to main content

Preparing for a Recital

Choosing music and writing program notes using library resources.

Overview

Bibliographies of instruments and guides to repertoire hold a wealth of useful information.

Most of MSPAL's holdings in this area are in the Reference section under ML128 and sorted alphabetically by instrument.

You can also search WorldCat using the subjects "bibliography" and your instrument to find relevant material. 

String Bibliographies

Bibliographies, also known as guides to research, provide comprehensive lists of books and articles on the instrument, teaching techniques, and more. Repertoire guides tell you all of the music available for the instrument and can include additional details like movement durations, difficulty ratings, pitch range, and whether extended techniques are required.

Woodwind Bibliographies

Bibliographies, also known as guides to research, provide comprehensive lists of books and articles on the instrument, teaching techniques, and more. Repertoire guides tell you all of the music available for the instrument and can include additional details like movement durations, difficulty ratings, pitch range, and whether extended techniques are required.

Brass Bibliographies

Bibliographies, also known as guides to research, provide comprehensive lists of books and articles on the instrument, teaching techniques, and more. Repertoire guides tell you all of the music available for the instrument and can include additional details like movement durations, difficulty ratings, pitch range, and whether extended techniques are required.