The Baltimore News American Collection consists of materials that document the history of the News American and its predecessors. The collection dates from 1773-2006 with the bulk of material dating between 1930 and 1973. It includes newspaper clippings, library files, correspondence, scrapbooks, unpublished and published manuscripts, editorial style guides, subscriber materials, an oral history, employee newsletters, and original newspapers. Prominent individuals documented in the collection include H.L. Mencken, Frank A. Munsey, R. P. Hariss, William Randolph Hearst, Sr., William Randolph Hearst, Jr., Millicent Hearst (wife of William Randolph Hearst, Sr.,) and John Steadman. Additional materials of interest include information about the News American's Bicentennial Celebration, women journalists, the demise of the News American, News American buildings and scrapbooks from the 1930's to the 1940's, some of which contain commentary from William Randolph Hearst, Sr., and his editorial staff.
The Original Newspaper Collection has a growing collection of newspaper titles. The majority of the newspapers date from the 19th and 20th centuries; however, a select few date back to the 18th century. Many of the newspapers were published in Baltimore, but other regional papers do appear in this collection. Some exceptional newspapers include the first issue of the Maryland Journal and Baltimore Advertiser, published in 1773, which was the first newspaper printed in Baltimore, as well as original copies of newspapers announcing important historic events such as President Kennedy's assasination and the announcement of the second World War in 1941.
The Washington Post (1877-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Full-text and fully searchable. Historians have regarded The Evening Star as the newspaper of record for the nation's capital. Published under such titles as Washington Star-News and The Washington Star, this long-running daily afternoon paper was one of the highest profile publications in the nation.
Digitized and fully searchable collections of early American newspapers. Includes two databases, Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 3 and African American Newspapers which can be searched together or separately. Early American Newspapers includes more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. African American Newspaper includes more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.