Biographies--Science and Technology
Biographies of Australian scientists and engineers. Entries include links to related articles and images as well as references to archival and bibliographic resources.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
1071 entries organized alphabetically, by branch of science, gender/ethnicity, historical period, and nationality. An index of prize winners is also included.
Galileo Project: Catalog of the Scientific Community in the 16th and 17th Centuries
A database of 631 detailed biographies on members of the scientific community during the 16th and 17th centuries. The database is searchable by up to 20 different fields including name, birthdate, nationality, scientific discipline, and religion.
Great Canadian Scientists
Provides biographical profiles of 245 Canadian scientists in 39 areas of expertise, including physics, chemistry, medicine, genetics, botany, psychology, anthropology, and meteorology.
MIT's Invention Dimension highlights a different American inventor each week with a biographical sketch describing their invention and contribution to society. The site includes an archive of biographies of past inventors of the week. The archive can be browsed by inventor or category of invention.
Inventors Assistance League
The Inventors Assistance League site provides biographical information about under-represented inventors including women and African-Americans. Click on the "Resources" tab.
National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs
Biographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members published since 1995.
National Inventors Hall of Fame
Profiles of inventors honored by the National Inventors Hall of Fame Foundation. The Hall of Fame inductee database is searchable by inventor, invention, induction date, or decade.
Official site of the Nobel Foundation. Contains biographies of all Nobel laureates since the awarding of the first prize in 1901.
A Science Odyssey: People and Discoveries
Biographies of scientists featured in the PBS series.
The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Indexed by name and by profession. Includes a section on women scientists and a list of first science Ph.D.s awarded to African Americans.
Notable African-American Scientists and Inventors
USA People Search
A list of selected African American scientists that have made significant contributions to modern science.
Biographies of Biologists
A directory of life scientist biographies on the web arranged alphabetically by name.
Profiles in Science
National Library of Medicine's archival collections of prominent twentieth century biomedical scientists.
100 Distinguished European Chemists
Biographical sketches of 100 European chemists compiled by the Federation of European Chemical Societies (FECS).
Chemical Genealogy Database
A database tracing the intellectual genealogy of over 1000 chemists and related scientists. Entries contain birth and death dates, degrees, institutions, advisors, scientific accomplishments, and bibliographic references.
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive: Indexes of Biographies
Alphabetical and chronological index of mathematician biographies.
Mathematical Association of America: Index of Biographies
Biographies of members of the Mathematical Association of America.
Mathematicians of the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries
Accounts of the lives and works of 17th and 18th century mathematicians adapted from A Short Account of the History of Mathematics by W. W. Rouse Ball (4th Edition, 1908). Biographies can be browsed by name or chronology.
4000 Years of Women in Science
Provides biographical portraits for over 125 women in the sciences; mainly pre-20th century. Biographies can be browsed by name, field of study, or time period.
Archives of Women in Science and Engineering
Describes the personal papers of women scientists and engineers and the records of national and regional women’s organizations in these fields.
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
Entries include a biographical essay and references. Has links to the first PH.D's in mathematics by women before 1930 and prizes, awards, and honors for women mathematicians, and other resources on women mathematicians and scientists.
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics (CWP)
Archive of data on 83 twentieth century women who have made original and important contributions to physics. The citations describe and document their major contributions and provide biographical information pertaining to the scientific lives of the women.
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
Offers biographies of notable women throughout history, including scientists, engineers, inventors, artists, educators, politicians, and entrepreneurs.