Databases

Databases
Searching Multiple Databases

There are many, many databases you can use that provide access to journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to the topics / show / individual black woman you are researching.

Access the databases from this guide or from the libraries homepage using the databases tab. You can also browse by subject category.

Many of the major databases you will be using are from the Ebscohost publisher, for example:
Academic Search Complete
Women's Studies International
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Music Index
RILM (music)
LGBT Life with Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre and dance
International Political Science Abstracts
SPORTDiscus
America. History and Life
Art Abstracts
Art Full Text
These databases may be searched together to remove duplicate documents. See - Searching Multiple databases
The profession of your woman will determine the databases you use.

Two additional databases from the Proquest publisher:
GenderWatch
Ethnic Newswatch

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
Women's Studies International
All aspects of women's studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
All aspects of communication and mass media.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database will provide cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of 301), as well as full text for more than 90 journals.
Music Index
The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages. ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database.
RILM Music
An international bibliography of nearly 500,000 scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 140 languages. RILM indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more.

Encompasses historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics. 1967 - present.
ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First
LGBTQ+ Source
Full text for hundreds of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Comprehensive database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide. A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
International Political Science Abstracts
This database produced by the International Political Science Association, provides coverage of articles from the world's leading journals in political science. Only 4 simultaneous users allowed. This database contains over 110,000 records from nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database every year.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. SPORTDiscus is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of kinesiology, fitness, health, and sport studies. Sports, recreation, physical fitness, and sport science. 1975-present with some monograph indexing dating back to 1800.
Art Abstracts
A Comprehensive Resource for Art Information featuring indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. Over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals Indexing and abstracts of over 13,000 art dissertations Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions. Time span: 1984-present.
Art Full Text
Researchers are able to track the careers of artists and review their materials and methods, and can find books by and about artists, as well as interviews, profiles and much more. Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. It also includes indexing of over 13,000 dissertations. Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995; High-quality indexing and abstracts for over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals; Indexing and abstracts for over 13,000 art dissertations; Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions; A database-specific thesaurus.
Music Online
A comprehensive database featuring streaming audio and video, reference, and scores. Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press.
African American Music Reference
A collection of online reference books, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes and discographies related to the history of African American music in all its guises: spirituals, jazz, blues, civil rights songs, hip hop and more.
Black Studies Periodicals
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean. Indexing 1902 to present, full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals 1998 to present. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary - spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline.
Oxford African American Studies Center
A full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and timelines. The core content of the electronic file consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional reference titles include the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; Oxford Companion to Black British History; and selected articles from other major reference titles.
GenderWatch
Full text database comprised of 175 titles, primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports. Subject areas covered include: government, history and politics, lesbian and gay studies, women's studies, and other humanities and social sciences disciplines. Dates of coverage of some publications are 1970 to the present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text bilingual (English/Spanish) database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. 1990 to the present. Multidisciplinary - news, culture, and history.

Search multiple databases together.

EbscoHost:
For example, Women's Studies International, Academic Search Complete; Communication & Mass Media Complete; LGBT Life with Full Text... can all be searched together.

Once in one database, click on - Choose Databases - to add additional databases.

Proquest:
GenderWatch; EthnicNewswatch