Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENSP 400: Capstone in Environmental Science and Policy

Research guide for ENSP 400: Capstone in Environmental Science and Policy

USDA APHIS Civilian Climate Corps

"We would like the students to provide APHIS with options and suggestions on how to best leverage the Civilian Climate Corps workforce, coordinate with other Federal agencies, and how to best engage the public for maximum effectiveness."

Research:

  • Review and summarize legislative history of Civilian Climate Corps.

  • Review and summarize existing literature about the successes and failures of prior Federal job corps programs.

  • Review and summarize outcomes of citizen science initiatives.

  • What worked, what did not

 

Civilian Climate Corps

https://evergreenaction.medium.com/evergreen-explains-how-to-build-the-civilian-climate-corps-f204293f43e7

The fulltext bills and hearings, senate and house reports, crs reports and other congressional documents can be found in several sources.

The Congressional Publications and Legislative Insight databases are available through the library's homepage, the other sources are on the web.

You will find a tremendous amount of information in the Congressional Publications database about the Federal Jobs Corps.

In addition, the Legislative Insight database provides the legislative history about previous jobs programs.

 

In addition to locating legislation, use the following databases to locate journal, magazine and newspaper articles about the Civilian Climate Corps and Job Corps. See the Citizen Science tab for sources and strategies..
 Suggested strategies are listed below.


Make sure to search the Ebsco databases together to remove duplicates. Get into one database (the Academic Search Ultimate database is linked below) and then click on - Choose Databases - and add the others. Please see the Tab labeled Searching Multiple Databases
Academic Search Ultimate
America: History and Life with Full Text
Business Source Complete
EconLit
SocINDEX with Full Text
Military and Government Collection

Make sure to search the Proquest databases together to remove duplicates. Get into one database (the PAIS database is linked below) and then click on - Change Databases - and add the others. Please see the tab labeled Searching Multiple Databases
PAIS
Ethnic Newswatch
Sociological Abstracts
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
 

Search Strategies
"citizen climate corps"

"job corps"

"job corps" and federal 

"job corps" and (success or impact or performance or achievement or outcome)

"job corps" and any other keywords

 

Be sure to see the tab labeled Google Tips, especially concerning limiting the document types

 

There are many books and government documents (reports, posters, pr..) on the history of the Federal Job Corps and on the Citizen Science topic.

Some possible searches and specific titles:
"job corps" 
"job corps" success
"job corps" assessment"

You can add any other keywords to the general "job corps" phrase

-------- 

"citizen science"
"citizen science" participation
"citizen science" assessment
 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Use the following databases and search strategies for Citizen Science.

Make sure to search the Ebsco databases together to remove duplicates. Get into one database (the Academic Search Ultimate database is linked below) and then click on - Choose Databases - and add the others. Please see the Tab labeled Searching Multiple Databases
Academic Search Ultimate
Medline
Agricola
GreenFILE
Garden, Landscape and Horticultural Index

 

Web of Science

Possible Search Strategies
"citizen science"
and
assessment or evaluation or measurement or success
and
program*

Can add other keywords if looking for specific program topics.
Example:
"citizen science"
and
tree*